Latin Name...what does it mean?

Dryftwood

Arachnopeon
Sorry for the noob question, but I AM a noob and recently got an "Avicularia sp.", or Peruvian Purple Pinktoe... what does the "sp." mean as oppose to say Avicularia Metallica?

skippy

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
it means that the species name isn't known or that it hasn't been classified yet.

Bill S

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
"sp" just means species. Avicularia sp means "a species of Avicularia". By itself it doesn't mean "unknown" or "undescribed" - but it is a common way of listing an unknown or undescribed species. Sometimes the shorthand "sp" is used when discussing animals where it is not necessary to list the species. For example, if you are discussing Aphonopelmas in general, it's not necessary to list each species of Aphonopelma - easier to just refer to the collectively as Aphonopelma spp.

Jjpth

Arachnopeon
"sp" just means species. Avicularia sp means "a species of Avicularia". By itself it doesn't mean "unknown" or "undescribed" - but it is a common way of listing an unknown or undescribed species. Sometimes the shorthand "sp" is used when discussing animals where it is not necessary to list the species. For example, if you are discussing Aphonopelmas in general, it's not necessary to list each species of Aphonopelma - easier to just refer to the collectively as Aphonopelma spp.

Thanks Bill, you broke it down well.. I was also wondering

Bill S

Arachnoprince
Old Timer