Isopods & Springtails leaf litter

StavyP

Arachnopeon
Hello guys , I hope everyone is doing ok and your day going good so far .
My name is Stav (Steve) I’m new in the whole terrarium hobby .
lately I have made 50 gallon Vivarium and few days ago I went to buy isopods and springtails to make the setup bioactive .
They all happy and active inside the tank but I have no clue what to feed them …
I saw that they can eat basically everything but I want to make sure they live good and healthy life.
For the time being I dropped a few pieces of fish flakes inside so they won’t starve

I saw that leaf litter is one of the most common foods that people gives their isopods&springtails
Today I went to my local greenhouse and I picked up two kind of dead leaves .
The first one is lychee leaves for sure , picked from the ground of a lychee tree…
The second one looks like maple leaves or grape leaves but I can’t be sure about it…., the tree was almost completely naked and it’s pretty normal for the typical winter here ….

I need your help identifying the leaves and also id like to know if I can use them as leaf litter food for the isopods (of course I would sterilize them beforehand)
I’m going to put two pictures of both leaves
Thank you so much for helping 🙏🫶🙏
DA2C548E-1DCB-42F1-AACC-2FE5E134679C.jpeg 8C8ADEFF-B512-4A35-91E9-A736DCA7C464.jpeg
Thank you again for helping 💕

Last edited:

Isopods others

Arachnoknight
They'll eat pretty much any leaves, they prefer thinner, more crinkly leaves however, soft white rotting wood is another staple of their diet, fish flakes yes, and moss! They love moss, but leaves and wood should be staple food
And wary of trees like eucalyptus which have a natutal poison in their oils

caedus511

Arachnopeon
Hopefully the greenhouse you got the leaves from doesn't use pesticides or you may be poisoning your isopods and springtails.