Is my sling in Pre-molt?

snakesocks

Arachnopeon
Hi guys. I'm new here.

I recently got my first sling; a Brachypelma Albiceps ~1".
Its behaviour changed a couple of days ago. I don't believe it's eating and it seems lethargic. I think it might be in pre-molt but I found it curled up by its water dish and it may just want more humidity and i'm not experienced enough to know which. I'd rather a few of you guys take a look and tell me what you think. I'll upload a photo taken a few days before this started. Any general care tips for this species would also be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

TriMac33

Arachnoknight
Hi guys. I'm new here.

I recently got my first sling; a Brachypelma Albiceps ~1".
Its behaviour changed a couple of days ago. I don't believe it's eating and it seems lethargic. I think it might be in pre-molt but I found it curled up by its water dish and it may just want more humidity and i'm not experienced enough to know which. I'd rather a few of you guys take a look and tell me what you think. I'll upload a photo taken a few days before this started. Any general care tips for this species would also be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Are you able to take a picture of the whole enclosure and what the sling looks like now?

Colorado Ts

Arachnoangel
Premoult...the abdomen is going to get darker the closer that the sling gets to its moult; the abdomen is going to get shinier the closer that the sling gets to its molt. In some species, GBBs, for example, the slings will become noticeably lethargic and will stop eating. (All my GBB slings got lethargic, 3 of the 5 stopped eating as they got closer to moulting).

In your image the sling has a nice sizable patch of urticating hairs. I don't see the abdomen as being particularly dark, in fact that dark shadowy veiny looking area on the top of its abdomen, in the close-up image, looks like it could be the heart.