Immature Araneomorphs Producing Egg Sacs

ReignofInvertebrates

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I have a Hogna schmitzi female that is only about 1-1.5” in leg span that just made a dud sac. Either they mature MUCH smaller than I thought they do or she’s done something I didn’t know Araneomorphs could do. I’ve been keeping spiders for like 10 years now, but never have I seen a female this far from maturity lay a dud. Is this something they do often that I’ve somehow just never witnessed?

magouilles

Arachnoknight
I have a Hogna schmitzi female that is only about 1-1.5” in leg span that just made a dud sac. Either they mature MUCH smaller than I thought they do or she’s done something I didn’t know Araneomorphs could do. I’ve been keeping spiders for like 10 years now, but never have I seen a female this far from maturity lay a dud. Is this something they do often that I’ve somehow just never witnessed?
I have no idea myself but it is quite intriguing
can’t wait to see if some people know more about the subject because I’ve never seen that either😮

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Spiders of any given species can mature at different sizes, depending on the amount of food, the temperature, and other environmental conditions they experienced while growing up - and most likely depending on their genetics as well. I've had two different females of the same species (Dolomedes okefinokensis) that both laid fertile egg sacs, even though one female was twice the size of the other. I've experienced the same with Hogna carolinensis, though the size differential was not as great. I also had a female Argiope argentata that created egg sacs while still quite small. (She didn't get any bigger - she was done molting and fully mature - but she was kind of stunted in size. It wasn't until later that I realized just how big they can really get!)