I am a beginner and I think I made a BAD choice.

Will it be okay?

• Total voters

AnnaMCC

Arachnopeon
I’m new to the hobby, and I decided recently (a few days ago) to get a tarantula. Me, being the dumb person I am, decided I didn’t want to raise a tarantula (I regret this choice, don’t worry).

With that being said, I got some stuff for a tarantula. Now, I wanted a Salmon pink bird eater because of their habitat choice. My mom was going to get it for me, but I got impatient and was too nervous to order online.

Sooo, I went to Petco... yes, petco. I saw a zebra knee tarantula for $40 (adult I believe). I purchased this tarantula and took it home. Again, I’m really stupid. I thought it would “just be fine”. So I set it up with a hide and everything and bought everything required. I know I made a bad choice in substrate brand. I think I got something called “reptile soil” instead of getting ecoearth stuff.

Another thing, it has a mesh lid and no holes on the side, and she/he climbs up the wall at night and I’m scared it’s leg will get stuck. Also, I didn’t get but like 1 inch of substrate in the tank and some moss, an extra piece of cork bark, and a watering dish.

My tarantula is a very sweet girl/boy. She hasn’t eaten yet (we got really small crickets to raise), which I totally expected because they were constantly being fed at petco. Here’s the thing, she refuses to use the hide and just covers herself in moss. I assume this is because of the lack of PROPER substrate.