How to keep a house spider?

Scribbler26

Arachnopeon
Hello everyone, I'm new here and wondering if anybody could offer some advice.

I am very phobic of spiders, particularly house spiders (I am in the UK). I am determined to try and get over this, and thought it might be worth keeping the next house spider I find as a pet. I've had a read through the forum but can't find anything for absolute beginners. I was wondering if anybody could tell me what sort of tank to buy and what to put it in it? How often I should feed it etc?

Although I am terrified of spiders, I'm also slightly fascinated by them and I'm quite excited to give this a go. I don't want be inhumane in any way though and would like to do it correctly.

Thank so much for any help - I need all the help I can get getting over this!

basin79

ArachnoGod
I occasionally bring a house spider (Eratigena atrica) into captivity. They're phenomenal little spiders.

I use a 5.8lt tub (approx 7" square). Put an inch or so of moss peat on the bottom and put plenty of bits of fake plastic plants in as anchor points and a piece of cork bark. Doesn't take them long to web up. Feeding depends on the size of the spider and the size of the prey. I'd feed once a week with a large cricket.

Scribbler26

Arachnopeon
Thank you! That’s really helpful. This may be a very dumb question, but how do I avoid them getting out whilst feeding them?

Jadestone

Arachnosquire
Make sure that the spider isn't near the lid. Most will try to hide rather than escape when disturbed so you should be good.

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Thank you! Would something like this be suitable?
Yes, that should be fine - and the little feeding hatch makes escapes during feeding far less likely than if you had to remove the entire lid.