How do I take care of a Grammostola pulchripes?

yamalolz

Arachnopeon
Hey, another quick post. I'm very close to getting my first tarantula, a G. Pulchripes, but I just want to be 100% sure i can take of this lil fella before buying

I have a few questions:

1. What do I use for the enclosure substrate? Cocopeat mixed with dirt, maybe some moss?

2. How often do i need to spray its enclosure?

3. When should I rehouse my tarantula, and how often?

4. When do I need to clean my tarantula's enclosure?

5. In the case of it having a bad molt, or getting injured, what do I do?

Thank you to all those who will help. Im still starting out in this hobby, and Im grateful for any help and tips I get

I must also include that I may not have the substrate ready immediately. Would it be okay to use plain as the substrate temporarily?

Last edited by a moderator:

nicodimus22

Arachnomancer
Arachnosupporter
Hey, another quick post. I'm very close to getting my first tarantula, a G. Pulchripes, but I just want to be 100% sure i can take of this lil fella before buying

I have a few questions:

1. What do I use for the enclosure substrate? Cocopeat mixed with dirt, maybe some moss?

1. Coco fiber or topsoil (with no fertilizer or other stuff in it.) Peat can be OK when mixed with other substrate...it's too soft and powdery by itself. I prefer coco fiber, personally. Make sure you fill the enclosure adequately. The distance between the top of the enclosure and the substrate should be no more than 1.5X the legspan of the tarantula. This eliminates long falls that can rupture their fragile abdomens. No hard, pointy objects that they can fall on, either.

2. Never. Humidity is not something to concern yourself with at all. Just overflow the water dish in one corner periodically, and let it dry out. Repeat.