Hisser Ootheca Problem

euckalyptus

Arachnopeon
I first noticed my female’s protruded ootheca about 2 days ago. It didn’t appear like I would expect but I thought maybe I’m not experienced enough to know. However, she hasn’t retracted it since I noticed it, and it looks kinda weird. Any advice? Is this normal?

Attachments

rock

Arachnoknight
They incubate the ootheca internally and then give "live birth", I have seen them out like that for hours, maybe a day, before being held inside. Two days does seem a little excessive but there's not much to do except wait or cut it off- which i've never done. Hope everything turn out - or in - alright

Scorpiobsession

Arachnobaron
Euthanize it.
I disagree, until it can be verified what it actually is I don't support killing animals just because there's a problem that might be lethal. I've read countless threads where at the beginning someone says to euthanize it and often the animal goes on to make a full recovery and live a long life.

MrGhostMantis

Arachnoprince
I disagree, until it can be verified what it actually is I don't support killing animals just because there's a problem that might be lethal. I've read countless threads where at the beginning someone says to euthanize it and often the animal goes on to make a full recovery and live a long life.
You can literally see it’s organs hanging in that sack of hemolymph. If that pops it’s game over, it can’t poop, the best course of action with very limited suffering is euthanasia.

Edit: This isn’t a ‘might be lethal’ situation, this is a lethal situation where there will be no recovery and any other hissers in there will likely chew on that thing and pop it. She also may just snag it in something or get it covered in crap. There is no point extending the suffering.

Scorpiobsession

Arachnobaron