Help on Caring for a Steatoda Grossa?

SteotodaNobilis

Arachnopeon
Hello! I am new to spider care. I have recently housed a male wild-born False Widow spider. He has food (a live leaf footed bug) and water, but he hasn't established a complete web yet. He is currently asleep (in a dark corner of the wood piece). Should I release him or keep him? If I keep him, any advice?
And I am wondering if he can catch food without a web. Is the food I gave him fine? Is the water source good?

And if you were wondering, here's a photo of the enclosure (lid off)

Last edited:

Draketeeth

Arachnoknight
How long have you had him? It's possible he's still just settling in if it hasn't been very long.

Last edited:

SteotodaNobilis

Arachnopeon
I wouldn't try to feed a web dweller before the web is built.
Thanks for informing me! How long will it take for him until he establishes his web (He has tried before but the two strings of web broke)? And how long can he survive without food (I'm worried that he might starve to death)?

Ungoliant

Malleus Aranearum
Staff member
Thanks for informing me! How long will it take for him until he establishes his web (He has tried before but the two strings of web broke)?
My cobweb spiders were usually settled within a week.

And how long can he survive without food (I'm worried that he might starve to death)?
Although not as long-lived as tarantulas, they have slow metabolisms and can go a long time without food as long as there is water.

SteotodaNobilis

Arachnopeon
He survived the night, and built a web. Unfortunately, his new web was too narrow to catch any food. He was also panicky, so I released him. I'll try to use a mason jar for the next spider I keep.

Last edited:

Dragon Rescuer

Arachnopeon