Help! Is my death feigning beetle dying?

alvap

Arachnopeon
Please guys, can you help me figure out if my death feigning beetle is actually dying? I bought them three or four weeks ago for my daughter, and we went on vacation for a week. While we were out we left them dry food (cricket powered and dog food). we got back yesterday and one has been 80% of the time with his legs up (as if feigning death) but when we walks, he limps. Honestly, he doesn't look good. He walks very slowly. Can it be dying? Anything I can do?
The other three are also kind of slow but look a bit better and seem to have more energy. Please share any advice, I am new to this and don't know what to do.
Also, FYI, the one that seems "sick" had lost part of a leg when we brought him home. I don't know if this is as issue.
Please let me know your opinion and what to do, tips to take care of them, etc. Thanks!

The Seraph

Arachnolord
Pictures would help us greatly in determining what is wrong with your beetle. Also, I am not sure how long death feigning beetles live but I do know that beetles in general do not live very long, only a few weeks. Finally, would you please use the scientific name? There are many different species of death feigning beetles, and using the scientific name makes things much clearer regarding species.

MurrayTheMailman

Arachnopeon
Sorry to hear about the sick bdf beetle. I also have four of these beetles for well over a year now. They are very hardy actually but I’m not expert in their behaviors. Despite beetles typically living months to a year this species lives for a surprisingly long time. 5 - 10 + years. Anyway keep us updated maybe it’s just the handicap of missing his leg. (Tarsus). Good luck!

MurrayTheMailman

Arachnopeon
Asbolus verrucosus is the scientific name btw. Would actually like to find a supplier closer to me. Hehe

The Seraph

Arachnolord