Grammostola Availability

nolyroly

Arachnopeon
Is it just me or are grammostola species becoming kinda hard to find? I’m still relatively new to keeping (got my first T about a year ago), and based on their popularity and fame I would have thought g roseas would be in every pet store and every expo. But I swear I’ve never seen one for sale in-person or online (though I don’t check terribly often). So what gives? Where are all the grammostola hiding? It doesn’t even have to be a rosea—I’ve been looking for igeringi, actaeon, porteri and concepcion and none of those seem to be available either.

nicodimus22

Arachnomancer
Arachnosupporter
Chile and Brazil aren't allowing export of tarantulas any more, so it's harder to find them. You may see some CB spiderlings, which is good, and also illegally harvested and exported specimens, which is not really something to encourage at this point. It's a grey area, because 100% of all tarantulas in the hobby were at one point pulled from the wild. We just need to stop doing that now and focus on captive bred specimens, IMO.

jc55

Arachnoknight
You can find G Rosea occasionally but they are very expensive from what i have seen.

8 legged

Arachnoprince
That export is banned is just a good thing!
There are few breeders as Grammostola are not a good quick buck due to their slow growth. In Europe there have only been CBs for a long time. You just need patience!

LucN

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
They definitely need to be bred more. I hear it's tough to get sacs, but if we manage to get a good one, it's a big win for both the wild populations and T hobby. I'd actually love to try my hand with even G. porteri. No matter the challenge, it would be a major learning experience for me.

8 legged

Arachnoprince