Giant african Millipede! (First invertebrate)

Skreemre

Arachnopeon
Hi newbie here so sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place but I got my first millipede (Giant african) about a week ago and I just wanted to check that I haven't done anything wrong/ show off my viv. I've mixed some hardwood leaves into the substrate but I'm planning to get more. There's a heat matt on the side (that plastic box is my cricket colony) and I'm buying a thermostat for it too.I spray it with water once or twice every day and leave veg out in the middle. There is some mould but I remove the big bits when I see them IMG_20210403_101521.jpg IMG_20210403_101607.jpg IMG_20210403_101626.jpg IMG_20210329_201848.jpg acessando stickers.jpg

Attachments

goliathusdavid

Arachnobaron
Yeah I'm drooling with jealousy. They're my favorite invert species of all time, though luckily I get to work with them and Giant Asians through some the institutions I'm at. Would still kill to have some for myself though :rofl: .
Your setup looks okay, with the exception of the heat mat. Unless your house temperature is FAR below 70 degrees farenheit (21 C) I would not use one. The risks are too high, especially for such a precious species, though you did the right thing putting it on the side. Also I noticed you did not mention substrate mixture. May I ask what you are using? Everything else looks great.

Last edited:

Bugs and Herps

Arachnopeon
Cool! I just got a young A. gigas so this gives me some ideas for its enclosure when it’s older. I agree with goliathusdavid- heat mat is too risky and it’s not necessary to add supplemental heat. I would recommend introducing springtails to the substrate as they will help control mold. Lovely millipede and nice tank scape!

Sterls

Arachnobaron
I know the enclosure won't really allow much more, but we typically give millipedes a depth of substrate that is equal to or greater than their length. Maybe you could slope it towards the back to provide more.