Getting Sand Boa to eat

MindUtopia

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Just a question with regards to my new sand boa. I've been lucky to never have feeding problems, even regurgitation, with my two corns, so I'm new at having to deal with them. I got her three weeks ago and she was fed the day before I brought her home. The breeder said she had fed twice previously on f/t after being started on live pinkies. She refused food when I tried to feed her a week later and looked like she was obviously in pre-shed. I gave her another week to give her time to shed, but she still hadn't, so I offered food again which she refused. She started to shed later that day, which was like Monday of this week. I offered food again several days later, which she continued to refuse. So now I'm pretty sure that it's more a feeding issue as opposed to a waiting to shed thing. She's probably about 8 inches or a little longer and I'm feeding the smallest pinkies I can find which she should be able to take no problem. Temps are good. I tried dragging the pinkie around her feeding container to simulate live prey, but no luck. Then I placed her and the pinkie in a deli cup back in her tank in the warm side for an hour or so. Still no luck. Short of scenting it, what else can I try to get her to feed?

OldHag

ArachnoHag
Old Timer
Try placing her in the deli cup with the mouse over night. She will most likely eat it ok. If not try braining the mouse and do another overnight er. They are most active in the wee hours of the night, so she may feel more comfortable eating that way.
You could also feed her IN a snake bag. She might feel too open to comfortably feed in a deli cup. I had one picky snake that would only eat in a snake bag for the first few feedings. The closeness makes them feel like theyre not seen I guess.

Good luck!! Once she gets going she will be a champion feeder!!

Midnightrdr456

Arachnoprince
Old Timer