Funny picture of my B smithi

tapkoote

Arachnopeon
I've got a 25W red lamp I plug in most every night for an hour or two. Ana is atracted like a moth to the porch light. But it takes 5-10 minutes for it to register, then she'll go over to it. The crickets will dash right to that corner when it comes on. Last night I saw mr. cricket dash to the corner, Ana wandered over later and got up on the glass like she was warming her tummy. And cricket didn't move. About 1/2 hour after I turned the light out, I saw ana in her bunker dancing, and the cricket was gone. Sorry about the fuzzy pic., couldn't get the camera to focus. Because of the reflection i think. That light spot is mr. cricket.

Attachments

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Your T is attracted to the heat, not the red wavelength of the bulb as they cannot see that wavelength.

tapkoote

Arachnopeon
Your T is attracted to the heat, not the red wavelength of the bulb as they cannot see that wavelength.
Viper, as a noob, I haven't been able to find much on what they can and canot see.
It's a 25 watt bulb a foot from a glass enclosure. Barley warm to the touch. The bulb that is. My wood stove puts out many times the radiant heat and she's not attracted to it. Maybe it's not a true red a true red wave length.

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Viper, as a noob, I haven't been able to find much on what they can and canot see.
It's a 25 watt bulb a foot from a glass enclosure. Barley warm to the touch. The bulb that is. My wood stove puts out many times the radiant heat and she's not attracted to it. Maybe it's not a true red a true red wave length.
There's a free paper via Google that describes the visible wavelength in A. chalcodes I believe, believe the paper is from the late 1960s.

I'm very familiar w/wood stoves and coal stoves, all too familiar.

tapkoote

Arachnopeon
There's a free paper via Google that describes the visible wavelength in A. chalcodes I believe, believe the paper is from the late 1960s.