Freezing substrate

groovyspider

Arachnoknight
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
257
would frezzing eco earth substrate be ok i made a little bit to much and i dont want it going bad would it be fine in a air tight zip bag?
 

Fran

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Joined
Nov 8, 2007
Messages
1,533
You dont need to freeze it. Just dry it and keep it in an "air tight" bag.
 

NikiP

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Joined
Apr 16, 2006
Messages
540
You could just lay it out in a pan, allow to dry, them bag it.
 

cacoseraph

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
Joined
Jan 5, 2005
Messages
8,328
why would you want to freeze it?


usually freezing is part of an antiobiotic plan. some of my friends freeze WC oak mulch to kill off as much of the little critters in there as possible before they feed the oak mulch to their millipedes and what not
 

Crysta

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
1,475
imo depending where the bacteria/small insects are from freezing it won't kill them off...

microwave and baking it is your best bet...

for leaves...

but extra soil that you got can be put into a garbage bag after it dried out, and forgotten about, and when you want to use it again, just take it out....
 

malevolentrobot

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Joined
Jan 21, 2010
Messages
310
um, i've never had to do anything to my coco coir after i've expanded it?

i just box it once its dried out, since 80% of my Ts like bone dry sub. and yes, i use eco earth bricks too, hence my confusion currently.
 

groovyspider

Arachnoknight
Joined
Aug 18, 2010
Messages
257
no theres no bugs or any thing in them it just i dont want it molding or anything getting to it. but i just dryed it ot and put in the double protection ziplock bags thanks for the help :D
 
Top