"foraging" substrate for Ts

hunnaB

Arachnopeon
I live on the east coast and there is lots of nature all around. I'm wanting to make a bioactive terrarium using the fauna of my region. I am new to the tarantula realm, so I am looking for advice if it is safe to use plants, moss, leaf litter, etc. from outside inside a T enclosure.

I plan to use potting soil and peat moss (maybe some coco husk) as substrate, but with this, I was thinking of maybe adding some of the decomposing leaf litter from a leaf pile in my yard. There seems to be a decent amount of nematodes and springtails crawling throughout it, I think those would be good for recycling purposes. I would probably add some moss and maybe a vining-ground plant or something similar.

Idk, any advice would be helpful and appreciated. Thanks!

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
This may not be the best idea. There could be any number of critters in the soil that could harm your T. Not a good idea IMO.

Also you’ll end up growing mold more than needed.

Decomposing leaf litter is a bad idea too IMO.

So are plants- they get covered in webbing.

moricollins

Arachno search engine
Old Timer
Bioactive setups are NOT recommended for beginners to tarantulas. Virtually all beginner friendly species do not need, and would not benefit from, a bioactive setup

Wolfram1

Arachnoprince
Arachnosupporter
There are definitly some risks involved, and for a true bioactive enclosure you would need to do a lot of research first.

It cant hurt however to introduce a few springtails.

Other animals commonly associated with cleaning crews of bioactive terrariums could potentialy harm a freshly molted tarantula as some of them can be carnivourous if they have too little sustenance otherwise. Some species are safer than others in this regard.

Also some mite larvae can be parasitic.

If there are pesticides used around the area you collected the soil that could be dangerous too.