First Arboreal

Zak9

Arachnopeon
Hello all

Recently acquired a juvenile Brachypelma Hamorii. It is my first T but I’m looking for my first arboreal species now. Ive never really only had one species of any animal I get. Done some research and narrowed it down to either a Avic Avic or C Versicolor. Am I right in choosing between these 2? I also keep mantis , assassin bugs and even got a hog nose snake. Wouldn’t say I’m a total beginner as I know about my humidity's and temps etc. Any help and advice is taken on board I’m always up for learning new things

Thanks Zak

chris0220

Arachnopeon
I think you’ll be good with either one. If I were you I’d do some searching on the forums for “avic sling help” and soak it all in.

Lots of cross ventilation, dry/slightly moist sub, piece of cork bark leaned against the side of enclosure, some cover towards the top and a water dish and you’re golden.

Tenebrarius

Arachnoangel
Wouldn’t say I’m a total beginner as I know about my humidity's and temps etc
sounds noob to me
OK mate, you going to need vents, VENTS EVERYWHERE. I do this with all my Ts anyways. Vertical space is important. A bit of cork bark places vertically, or some people use tubes, but then you can't see anything. Sticks and other things to web up. Arboreals like cover, like advics in specific. I wet the webs, wall, and have two water dishes for my arboreals. Some people like glue water caps more vertically, I've tried it, and either is fine.
edit: forgot to mention avic is a great beginner spider IMO for any keeper with the ability to read. It gets the status as a "intermediate" species but I disagree keeping any T can be easy as long as you are smart about it and research.

Last edited:

TriMac33

Arachnoknight