Female or Male Theraphosa blondi?

Gretchen

Arachnopeon
Here are several ventral photos of my Theraphosa blondi. Can anyone identify the sex of this animal for me? Also noted, this T is only 7.5" DLS (diagonal leg span), so I'm assuming it is still a juvenile with some growing left to do.

IMG_0895.jpg
IMG_0897.jpg
IMG_0903.jpg

Last edited:

MarkmD

Arachnoprince
Very good pics, I think your T,blondi is female, but I maybe wrong, someone will amswer better.

Gretchen

Arachnopeon
Very good pics, I think your T,blondi is female, but I maybe wrong, someone will amswer better.
Hi MarkmD!

I was thinking female also, but the Epigynal plate has that patch. It is noted that this patch is not circular or dark, so I'm thinking that it is a worn patch and that this <female?> is just in need of a good old fashion molt. However, I'm new to this hobby, and inexperienced at sexing - especially by just looking at the ventral.

Also thanks for the response, and the compliment on the photos! :-D

Last edited:

Gretchen

Arachnopeon
T. stirmi.
Hi Chris_Skeleton! Is this a female or a male T. stirmi?

---------- Post added 09-01-2012 at 08:24 PM ----------

Hmmm... Would this be correct...

If there is no hair on the patella, then it is T. stirmi. If the knee is covered in hair, it is the true T. blondi. Also, I would love a link to some good information on the T. stirmi, if anyone has it. Thank you!

Last edited:

CleanSweep

Arachnopeon
Hi Chris_Skeleton! Is T. stirmi a taxa name change for T. blondi, or do I have a different animal altogether? And is this a female or a male T. stirmi?

Also, I would love a link to some more information to the T. stirmi, if you have it. Thank you!

---------- Post added 09-01-2012 at 08:24 PM ----------

Hmmm... Would this be correct...

If there is no hair on the patella, then it is T. stirmi. If the knee is covered in hair, it is the true T. blondi.