Feeding Slings

wignowski85

Arachnopeon
Hey guys, this is my first time owning a T and it's a Mexican Red-knee sling. I love arachnids and have always wanted to own one. It arrived about 8 hours ago and is still super lethargic. It will move its legs when slightly bumped but I feel like I don't want to mess with it for awhile. I read that it can feed on anything as big as its body length. If you get a termite that's flying around outside to feed it with is that safe or is it certain types of crickets? Any insight on raising slings from the experienced and experts would be greatly appreciated.

EpicEpic

Arachnoangel
Stop touching.

Don't feed it anything from outside.

Rule of thumb is the prey item should be the size of the spiders abdomen. If the cricket/mealworm/roach is too big....slice it!

Vanessa

Grammostola Groupie
I'm concerned that you describe it as being 'super lethargic'. Were the temperatures good when it was received? Do you think it was exposed to extreme temperatures for any length of time? I wouldn't expect them to be acting normal, but I have never received a spider that I would describe as being 'super lethargic'.
Mealworms are your best bet. You can cut them into whatever sized chunks that you need and they can be kept alive for months in the crisper portion of the fridge (don't forget the airholes). They are your most economical choice if you only have one spiderling.
Please post photos of your setup and spider when you can.

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer