Eggs and egg sac questions . . .

Drizzt80

Arachnopeon
A couple quick questions concerning my (recently discovered) female H. lividum.

1. Can T's lay eggs/egg sacs without them being fertile similar to snakes?
2. Can fertile/infertile eggs be identified visually similar to snakes?
3. Can T's hold sperm cells to fertilize for an indetermined time similar to snakes?

Here's why . . . my H. lividum was viewed at the entrance to her burrow with a white ball the other day in my classroom. I'm a novice at T breeding (fairly experienced at snake breeding), but have fairly decent knowledge on their care etc. Anyway, I knew/assumed it was an egg sac so I dug her out of the burrow today and confirmed it was indeed an egg sac by cutting it open. (Yes, she was none to happy.)

Now, I did not attempt to breed this girl. She was purchased from a wholesaler, and not privately, so she could be wild caught. I have had her since August of 2005 . . . hence the question of how long they can retain sperm.

Any information would be wonderful.
D80

PS. Did a search for "egg sac" and "infertile eggs" and I'm sure you can guess the number of hits that came up. :wall:

Snipes

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
1. Can T's lay eggs/egg sacs without them being fertile similar to snakes?
2. Can fertile/infertile eggs be identified visually similar to snakes?
3. Can T's hold sperm cells to fertilize for an indetermined time similar to snakes?
1. Yes, although its uncommon.
2. Not that I know of, you have to wait and see. If she molted, the sac will be infertile.
3. Yes, the female can hold the sperm in her spermathecae until she molts. When she molts, she will shed the spermathecae.

MyNameIsYours

Arachnopeon
1. Tarantulas can lay infertile eggs. This usually happens if the male wasnt healthy or the female isnt healthy.
2. Infertile tarantula eggs turn black and go bad. Live eggs stay creamish and moist.