Hello there, why not take a few seconds to register on our forums and become part of the community? Just click here.

Does experience with OW tarantulas prepare you for owning a hot scorp?

Discussion in 'Scorpions' started by Spiderkid, Mar 2, 2013.

1. Spiderkid

Spiderkid Arachnosquire

Advertisement
    Hey guys, I'm new to keeping scorps, but I have lots of experience with fast/defensive tarantulas (Poecilotheria, Pterinochilus, Heteroscodra). I've recently become extremely interested in getting an Androctonus bicolor. I've done a lot of research, and I'm well aware of their potent venom and nasty dispositions. I feel that they are in many ways similar to tarantulas, and that as long as I give them the respect they deserve, I'll be fine. Do you guys think that I would be ok getting an Androctonus with no previous scorpion experience? Also, how fast do these guys move, compared to something like a Pokie or an OBT?

• Like Like x 1
  2. k2power

k2power Arachnoknight

NC
    I would say tarantulas are more difficult to deal with since they can climb almost anything and are super fast (OW that is). It should be a piece of cake dealing with venomous scorpions although there is a greater risk of serious injury or death from a sting than from a bite of any of the above mentioned tarantulas. They certainly need respect but should be much easier to work with. I don't have more than C. sculpturatus but have no concerns about dealing with those compared to an OBT I have.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Aztek

Aztek Arachnoprince

Easier to work with but a bigger consequences.

4. Norm

Norm Arachnosquire