Dead Millipede

Simandoalover

Arachnopeon
I’m relatively new to myriapods and I have had 2 for about a year, when I got them they were both still small and now they are getting close to full grown. Recently I went on a trip and came back 3 days later to one dead (a Florida Ivory) and the other alive (Smokey Oak). Does anyone have any ideas about what killed her? They are in the same habitat so if it is something that will eventually Killy my Smokey oak, I would love to know. I listed the soil before I left and it was still damp when I came back but it was never soaking wet. The only food I added was a piece of carrot that was organic and I give it to them every other week. There care has stayed the same since I got them. If anyone knows what happened, please tell me. Also I added an image of my dead millipede if that helps!

Attachments

BepopCola

Arachnobaron
She looks pretty big in the photo, but do you have her measurements?
Also, was their temperature controlled for?

Arthroverts

Arachnoking
I agree with all of the above. We need more info. A picture of your tank, what your substrate is, temperature, size of the millipede, food provided, any other particulars, etc. is needed before we can start guessing what caused the death.

Thanks,

Arthroverts

Simandoalover

Arachnopeon
Temperature: My room is always at 75 degrees

Substrate: “Millipede Substrate” from bugs in cyber space (my friend got me it as a gift) and it’s about 2 1/2 inches deep.

Food provided: I mostly give them organic carrots and lettuce, I feed them stuff like that every week

My enclosure is an extra large kritter Keeper (5.90 GAlarge. Size: 15 3/4-inch large by 9 3/8-inch width by 12 1/2-inch height)

Inhabitants in the tank: 1 Smokey oak, Dwarf Purple Isopods and Springtails

My dead millipede is 2 1/4 inches long

donniedark0

chiLLLen
Arachnosupporter