Caribena Versicolor Sling

morgant

Arachnopeon
Hi everyone! I'm fairly new to the hobby; I currently have 2 tarantulas which I have raised from 1inch slings (Tliltocatl albopilosus and Lasiodora parahybana)
A year ago, I purchased a 1/2-inch Caribena Versicolor sling and made sure I put in hours of research since I knew these slings were a bit harder to care for. I did everything right, I believe, lots of ventilation holes in the enclosure, sprayed the web down with water often, fed cut-up super worms, and made sure the temp and humidity levels were okay. It was always an okay eater, but about 5 months after I got it started refusing food. I didn't panic because T was still acting fine, but then, a couple of days later, she died. I was super upset by this and haven't purchased a tarantula since- I thought it was my fault and felt so guilty, so I didn't want to post about it either. I'm now exploring getting another Caribena Versicolor and was wondering if you guys had any tips. Should I be doing something differently? Thanks!

DaveM

ArachnoOneCanReach
Old Timer
I suggest setting up an enclosure and posting photos. Much of what you say could be right, and you sound like a reasonable person, but it's hard to pinpoint specific problems without seeing. Lots of ventilation: essential, and good that you've got that covered. Spraying down the web often... well, you didn't make the whole web and the whole enclosure too wet or spray the spider, right? A few droplets on part of the web would be good. This death you had may not be your fault at all. Doing everything right as well as anyone could, a sling will still die occasionally. There's no reason to fear getting another one. These are not so difficult. With expert guidance from people around here, you can certainly succeed, and that will expunge any lingering bad feelings from earlier mishaps. Wishing you the best 👍

Smotzer

Arachnoemperor