Calling all Orchid enthusiast

pirminiamac

Arachnosquire
So! i came across Orchids reduced to just £1 from £10! with really nice pots too so I grabbed a couple.
I know they like humidity, I've left them in the plastic cover and stuck them on the bathroom window but what else do I need to know? Also do I repot or leave them root bound?

schmiggle

Arachnoking
There are 30,000 species of orchids, so we'll need to know what species these are to offer any specific care advice. Although to begin with, I would probably remove the plastic cover, since airflow is important, the bathroom has high humidity, and you need to get the orchid to acclimate to lower humidity anyway.

I wouldn't repot yet, it's probably already stressed and there's a good chance it doesn't need it. Many orchids prefer being underpotted anyway, due to their epiphytic habit in the wild.

If you don't know what species, post a picture and an ID might be possible.

pirminiamac

Arachnosquire
Oh my bad! Orchid noob here. A species ID would be good:banghead:

I know the pots a lil dry I will start misting as of tomorrow, the water is sitting out in a bucket overnight but my water comes out the tap very hard and leaves residue, do I need to do something about that?

Attachments

schmiggle

Arachnoking
I wouldn't use water that's hard enough to leave a residue. You can water with bottled water, distill (that's difficult and I don't recommend it unless you're used to it), capture rainwater, or I think there are chemicals you can add to water to precipitate calcium carbonate.

Those are both Phalaenopsis hybrids, as I expected. They'll do ok in windowsill conditions--low but not dim lighting and ambient humidity. They'll probably be very happy in your bathroom, since they do like high humidity if they can get it. It doesn't look to me like they need repotting.

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer