Burrowing w/ no Substrate

Jezabel

Arachnopeon
Hi guys, I'm very new to the Tarantula world and as some of you may know, I have a 2 inch G. Pulchra (Female) that I bought about 2 weeks ago. She's finally made herself at home and has PLENTY of room (12X12 Octagon Acyrlic Tank). I have a question though. She ate 2 large crickets yesterday (first time I've seen her eat since I've had her) and she has created her burrow on the side of the tank, which is great for me bc I can still see her. However, she's closed herself in her burrow completely, which is fine, except that her burrow flooring is now the acrylic tank with no webbing what-so-ever.

Will she web right before she molts? I'm not sure that she is quite ready to, no bald spot yet that I can see. I'm just concerned that when she decides to molt, that she has soft "bedding" so she doesn't hurt herself on a hard surface.

Any advice?? :confused:

Last edited:

satanslilhelper

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
I would leave it alone. Several of mine have similar burrows and they molt without any problems. Your just having the usual new parent worries.

Jacobchinarian

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
^ I definitely agree with this. One of my tarantulas did this and although he hasn't molted yet he is doing fine. Dont worry about it a tarantula won't hurt itself like that. Remember the tarantula keepers saying: it knows what it's doing.

webbedone

Arachnobaron