Building a Collection

Larry Braverman

Arachnopeon
I just got my first T about a month ago, a Juvenile GBB. And with my OCD and them being absolutely awesome I am already thinking about how to build my collection. I know that realistically I should probably give it a few months with one T and really get to know what it's like, experience a molt, and other weird behaviors before I introduce a bunch of other animals to keep track of, but you know... Potato Chips.
So, since I am still new to the hobby I want to stick with T's I think I can handle until I have more experience. Looking at a lot of the online dealers, the tarantula collective's advice videos, and checking out my local shops supply here is my short list.

1. Cyriocosmus elegans (Trinidad Dwarf) - Love love love this little guy
2. Grammostola pulchripes (Chaco Golden Knee) - Probably my second favorite or tied for 1st with my GBB, but have had a hard time finding them in stock anywhere
3. Hapalopus sp. Colombia (Pumpkin Patch) - Seem to be everywhere, and often times free. A good beginner species though?
4. Pterinopelma sazimai (Brazilian / Iridescent Blue) - Another beauty, but unsure of temperament and if they fit that beginner mold.
5. Caribena versicolor (Antilles Pinktoe Tarantula) - Having an arboreal make me a little more nervous, but these guys just seem chill about everything

Does anybody see any red flags with this list for a newbie?
Any advice you would give for someone wanting to expand their collection? Slow down?
Any other thoughts?
Thanks!

as a bonus here's a pic of my GBB's cute little butt

Attachments

cold blood

Staff member
Any advice you would give for someone wanting to expand their collection? Slow down?
Any other thoughts?