Breeding velvet ants

Matts inverts

Arachnoangel
I was wondering if it was possible to breed them. I know the males can fly so I was wondering how dangerous it would be. Sorry if this question is silly, I’m new to keeping insects

ZGuy

Arachnopeon
Only the females sting to my knowledge but yes the males fly. I have no experience in breeding them but it should theoretically be able to work.

Matts inverts

Arachnoangel
An old post said the larvae are parasites, is that true and can I substitute bees for Beatles or another insect

ZGuy

Arachnopeon
you can always test i out and use caterpillars or if you want to go the mile you can try the bee method. I would try with caterpillars or a large species of fly to start with.

pannaking22

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
I believe many are parasites of various solitary nesting bee larvae, but I wouldn't be surprised if there are species that utilize caterpillar or fly larvae.

schmiggle

Arachnoking
The larvae are all ectoparasitoids. I just read that some are hyperparasitoids of parasitic grubs, so that seems like a good sign. Also, as @ZGuy said, just because an insect isn't the native host doesn't necessarily rule it out as a captive host.

Matts inverts

Arachnoangel
If I try caterpillars, are there any recommendations like hornworms, or any specific type of grub

Matts inverts

Arachnoangel
What size tank should I have for breeding and should I make any lid modifications like turantulas

RoachCoach

Arachnodemon
An old post said the larvae are parasites, is that true and can I substitute bees for Beatles or another insect
If you are substituting Beatles then may I suggest Yoko. Please feed Yoko to them...
I've been stung by one. She won't even notice.

RoachCoach

Arachnodemon
I meant like darkling Beatles