Brachypelma Hamorii or Brachypelma Albopilosum?

Skullion

Arachnopeon
I'm a newbie and am planning on getting my first tarantula. I can't decide between a Hamorii and an Albo. Any suggestions? I like the look of the Hamorii better. but the faster growth rate and generally tamer personality of the Albo is also appealing to me. Price and availability don't matter.

Edit: I would also be open to a Choco Golden Knee.

Last edited:

vicareux

A. geniculata worship cult member
Whilst B.hamorii is super pretty,Brachypelmas are kind boring activity wise :rofl:
A Tliltocatl albopilosus,especially nicaraguan locality,is super fuzzy and beautiful in their own way. So much more satisfying to keep compared to a Brachypelma hamorii

Neonblizzard

Arachnomoron
Both are great, i love both of mine. From my experience i would say you are better going with the T. Albo first simply because hamorii tend to be the ultimate pet rock and also can be quite bossy, flicky and a little uncooperative at times.

This isn't a problem in the grand scheme of things, still great guys. But the albo will grow quicker, burrow lots which is fun to see and are *overall* a little nicer in temperament. They are also better eaters even though hamorii are usually great eaters themselves.

G pulchripes are also brilliant although I've never owned one... Their main downside like other grammostola is they are rather slow growing and can go on some loong fasts which is concerning for new keepers. You might not see them all that much as slings. On the plus side you do get a wonderful big lump of spider eventually

Liquifin

Arachnoking
It is entirely up to you to decide on what you want.