Brachypelma albopilosum or Aphonopelma chalcodes.

The Amazing Me

Arachnopeon
Ok so an awesome user Cold Blood reccomended me these two tarantulas curly hair or blonde. I am orienting towards Curly hair since there is more known? Which is a better pet.
Id like to handle but it isnt a necessity
And I am a rookie
And thanks cold blood

nicodimus22

Arachnomancer
Arachnosupporter
Both are great, although my specimen of A. chalcodes is very skittish. I gently take the lid off to fill water or put in a cricket, and she zooms all over the place at a speed she doesn't look capable of. Never kicks hairs, never acts defensive, but man she is really fast and she startles easily.

Slight leaning towards the B. albopilosum between those two on my end. Or a G. pulchripes, which is a nearly perfect starter T as well.

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
You'll get more activity out of an A. chalcodes, but a B. albopilosum is usually more tolerant of handling. Note that these are generalities, individual specimens have different temperaments.

Concerning price, A. chalcodes will run you ~$50-$70 for an adult female since they are native to the US. An adult female B. albopilosum will be quite a bit more, especially if you want the Nicaraguan variant.

With care, they're both pretty much the same. A. chalcodes can be kept on absolutely bone dry substrate, whereas the B. albopilosum will appreciate a dose of humidity every other week or so in the form of an overflown water dish. Every albo that I've had is a bit of a pet rock, whereas the A. chalcodes always seems to be up to something. They're both very slow growing, although I believe A. chalcodes is a bit slower. But again, I'd strongly suggest that you get an adult regardless of what you get. Or at least a juvie.

In the end, you can't go wrong with either so long as you provide a proper home. Go with which looks prettier to you. If it matters, here are some pictures of each. Click each to enlarge.

A. chalcodes
IMG_1039.JPG