Blue Death Feigning Beetles can co-habitate with...?

inle

Arachnopeon
My son (5 years old) would like to replace his D. tityus, which recently passed away, with Blue Death Feigning Beetles. The sites I was looking at (bugsincyberspace.com and kenthebugguy.com) are sold out. I was thinking about getting a different type of darkling beetle for right now and adding the BDFBs later. The problem is I can't find a list anywhere of which other darkling beetles get along or is just all of them? We have a 10 gallon aquarium and are planning on making it a pretty display tank so active and pretty bugs are preferred. Basically we are getting bugs instead of fish. I was also wondering if there are any large millipedes that can co-habitate with Blue Death Feigning Beetles? Any input is appreciated as I am a complete newbie to keeping bugs as pets but learning quickly!

Bugs In Cyberspace

Arachnodemon
Old Timer
Hi Inle,

Pretty much all the darklings, and just tenebrionidae family beetles in general can live together in a communal tank. They tend to prefer dry conditions while millipedes tend to thrive in more humid conditions. Still you can probably work out some sort of balance by adding a deeper substrate on one side of the tank for the millipedes to burrow in. This could be wet down every several days. The other side of the tank could be the dry side with a 60 Watt bulb on it. You'd really have to watch the humidity for the millipedes though. Two tanks would be better. Desert millipedes like Orthoporus would probably be best since they both come from the same areas as many of the darkling offerings in the hobby, as well as being desert species in general.

Lots of interest in the bdfb's lately. I may have to make a trip down to get some more since my once reliable source seems to have disappeared like a puddle in the desert. I have numerous darkling and beetle videos on youtube if you do a search from my page there in the signature line of this post.