Hello there, why not take a few seconds to register on our forums and become part of the community? Just click here.

Bioactive terrariums and substrate use.

Discussion in 'Vivariums and Terrariums' started by Frogdaddy, Nov 16, 2019.

1. Frogdaddy

Frogdaddy Arachnopeon Active Member

Advertisement
    Admittedly I'm a noob when it comes to T's. However I've kept and bred many species of Dart frogs for years.
    How many T keepers use a "bioactive" terrarium with microfauna, ie. Isopods and Springtails? Is it a newer trend among T keepers?
    How many T keepers use alternative substrates like ABG Mix? It seems as if straight coco coir is the norm. Old standard or behind the times?
    How many utilize live plants or leaf litter?
    I'm curious and hopefully this well be an interesting and informative discussion.

• Like Like x 1
  2. moricollins

moricollins Arachnoking Old Timer

Very few people do bio active tarantula setups.

Isopods can be dangerous to tarantulas.

3. Frogdaddy

Please provide a reference supporting your statement that isopods can be dangerous to Tarantulas.

4. moricollins

Search on here. There have been at least 5 threads where Isopods have injured tarantulas or scorpions

5. Feral

Feral Arachnoknight Active Member

For my two pennies...

I have planted enclosures. I don't use isopods or springtails, though I'm not opposed to springtails based on my theoretical knowledge. I would probably use them if I had damper enclosures (for species I keep, I keep moisture at around 3-4 on a scale from 1 to 10). I sometimes use leaf litter on the surface.
    I pretty much use straight cocofiber substratefor my Ts. But for the individual plant containers inside the larger enclosure, I use a modified ABG (basically ABG without sand and wood chucks- still a coco fiber base with shredded moss and leaf litter and activated carbon over a false bottom).