Beginner to the Hobby! Questions regarding the Salticidae!

Hello everyone!

I am new to this hobby, and I want to be able to learn from as many that are experienced, as much as possible! I want to learn all that I must know in order to give my very first spider (and then the second, third and so on) the very best care that they need! My favorite spider so far is the Salticidae! I am wanting to have that as my first pet spider, before transitioning to a bigger spider such as the Grammostola Rosea!

Do any of you have experience with the Salticidae? What would you recommend before getting one? Also, what enclosures do you think would be best? Would something hand-made be preferable?

And what is better--to buy through breeders or websites? What would the websites be, or where can I contact breeders for these and other spiders?

Thank you so much in advance! I am so excited and can't wait to learn and get everything ready for my little Salticidae (that I am planning on getting in the near-future)!

Lucky123

Arachnobaron
First of all you are talking about Salticidae like it is a species, it is not, it is an entire family (Jumping Spiders), with over 6000 different species. Salticidae is my favorite family to keep. For your first jumper, I would recommend you catch a native species so that you don't have to worry about the temperature and humidity requirements that come with an exotic species. I would recommend starting with any spider from the genus Phidippus, the most commonly kept are Phidippus regius, and Phidippus audax. For enclosures a 32 oz deli container will work perfectly for an adult, and something smaller for a juvenile. If you are looking to buy, you could just google jumping spiders for sale, you could also try to buy one from someone on arachnoboards. Let me know if you have anymore questions.

Yes I often keep making the mistake of naming the entire family instead of the species! :embarrassed: My bad!