Battling mold.

Tburtmcsquirt

Arachnopeon
So the tank I'm using has a mold that I can't get rid of. I have to re clean the entire tank. I know I'm going to piss off my spider but she needs a healthy environment. I will have to destroy all her webbing and I hope that's not an awful thing to do to her. I got caught up with the tank humidity as a beginner and I made a few other mistakes. Is all this ok? Will she be super pissed, or just get back in there and make a new web? Any advice on this will be greatly appreciated. She's an avicularia versicolor.

TownesVanZandt

Arachnoprince
We all rehouse our spiders from time to time, so that´s not a problem. With proper ventilation (which you should have for an "avic"), there should be no issues with mould.

Tburtmcsquirt

Arachnopeon
Thanks! I'm relatively new to all this but I've got a lot of it down. Just minor fixes to make now. I've added a fan to circulate some air. I read another thread on here saying to let the mold run its course? Some say it bothers them, others say it doesn't. I thought she left her web due to mold but she may actually be molting. I just want to make sure I'm never causing any harm I want happy T's!

TownesVanZandt

Arachnoprince
IME mould does not affect the spiders in any way (unless you have crazy amounts of it). It´s not very aesthetically pleasing, though. I can´t see why you would need to have a fan to circulate the air. Do you happen to have a picture of your enclosure? Also, if your T is about to moult, you should wait with rehousing it.

Tburtmcsquirt

Arachnopeon