B. Smithi ( annitha ) in premolt ?

TwinKy

Arachnopeon
Hey guys I recently got a brachypelma Smithi and I was wondering if it could be in premolt. She's only 1.5-2" and I got it last week but since then she didn't show any interest in food ( crickets, cut off superworms ) and is very lethargic, barely moves through day and night and her abdomen seems kinda big for it's size. I'll attempt to feed it again in a few days, also this is my first T I'm new to the hobby.
Thanks guys 🖤

Attachments

Blueandbluer

Arachnobaron
I always tell people who ask this question -- your guess is as good as ours on whether a spider could be in premolt or not. That species is generally calm to the point of being nearly a rock, so I can't imagine what "lethargic" would mean in this case. That's just how they roll. Lay off with the feedings a while. Everyone is way too used to mammals when they first get a T. One that size likely only needs feeding once every one or two weeks. She doesn't look to be starving. Just give her some time to settle in to the new surroundings and relax before you start tossing feeders at her.

What I do is have a schedule. I toss in a feeder, and remove it if they don't take it within 10 minutes. If they don't, then that's fine. I'll wait until the next scheduled feeding day before trying again. The bigger they get, the longer the time between scheduled feedings. My mature spiders only get fed once or twice a month. They can go very very long times without feeding, and this way you aren't stressing them out with eeders crawling over them constantly. They'll eat it, or they won't; they'll molt, or they won't. Just relax and let them Spider, they're good at it. :)

As an aside, looking at the tiny bit I can see of the enclosure, there may be some things you could consider changing there. If you want advice about that, start a new thread with pics of the whole enclosure and folks will be happy to help.

Last edited:

Tarantuland

Arachnoprince