B. emilia won’t touch substrate! Help!!

slmn

Arachnopeon
Help!! Im new to the hobby and I got a 2” Brachypelma emilia. I happen to have a 8x8x8 exo terra enclosure so I decided to use it for my T. However she wont ever touch the substrate. I used coco fiber brick. I notice it took so long to dry so I put it in the oven then used it on my enclosure. Its almost 2 weeks now and my t doesn’t go to the substrate. It just keeps climbing on the sides or on the top. Do you guys think that I should just change my enclosure? or can you guys please suggest some other substrate that I could use for these species? Thank you so much!

Spaceman

Arachnoknight
Can you send a picture of the enclosure ? I’ve never read about anything like this but perhaps you should change the substrate if she really won’t touch it

slmn

Arachnopeon
Can you send a picture of the enclosure ? I’ve never read about anything like this but perhaps you should change the substrate if she really won’t touch it
Yeah I might just put her in a different enclosure too. Something smaller. Im scared that she might fall and die from always climbing. Can you suggest any other substrate that I could use?

Attachments

Spaceman

Arachnoknight
I’ve read on here about people getting nervous with those types of enclosures because T’s CAN GET STUCK on the ventilation

Poonjab

Arachnoking
There are a lot the things wrong here. But how much you wanna bet that the substrate is too loose and not tamped down enough. T’s hate loose substrate. I know you have good intentions so I’m not harping on you, but it’s best if you do a whole new setup that is better suited for a terrestrial species. Minus a screen top too.

slmn

Arachnopeon