Avicularia Feeding

Erin Bradley

Arachnopeon
Advice needed... I recently purchased a bunch of dubia roaches for my Ts, but I have a slight problem with my A. avicularia. This particular T won't eat food fed to by chopstick or tongs, she will only eat by hunting the food down in the cage after a while. Due to the terrarium setup, the roaches run away and then dig to the bottom of the substrate and isn't easy for her. What are good feeding techniques for this and other arboreal T's? I'm also fairly new to the hobby so occasionally I get worried over some basic things.

Extra info: She is my first arboreal tarantula and has molted about 2 1/2 weeks ago, so I'm assuming fairly hungry?

Image for reference

Attachments

Moonohol

Two Legged Freak
Crush the heads of the dubia before you throw them in. That way they'll still wiggle around, but won't be able to burrow. I learned this the hard way after switching to dubia for feeders and having a bunch of them go rogue and try to cohabitate with my Ts, haha. They will also wiggle around for WEEKS

darkness975

Latrodectus
Arachnosupporter +
Advice needed... I recently purchased a bunch of dubia roaches for my Ts, but I have a slight problem with my A. avicularia. This particular T won't eat food fed to by chopstick or tongs, she will only eat by hunting the food down in the cage after a while. Due to the terrarium setup, the roaches run away and then dig to the bottom of the substrate and isn't easy for her. What are good feeding techniques for this and other arboreal T's? I'm also fairly new to the hobby so occasionally I get worried over some basic things.

Extra info: She is my first arboreal tarantula and has molted about 2 1/2 weeks ago, so I'm assuming fairly hungry?

Image for reference
You shouldn't have to tong feed them. Hunting them in the way your Avic. is doing is actually natural for them.

Andrea82

Arachnoemperor