Any tips on rehousing?

ArachnidAB

Arachnopeon
Hi all
I rehoused my Chilobrachys huahini sling and it was the worst 1.5 hours of my life, I was just curious as I'm new to the hobby, has anybody got any good tips to rehoused a tarantula quickly and easily?
TIA

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper
That beats my record of spending quarter of an hour tearing my room apart trying to apprehend mine after her escape attempt.

Scumbag Chilo.JPG

FrDoc

Gen. 1:24-25
Arachnosupporter +
Tom Moran’s rehousing tutorials on YT may be beneficial. Your particular situation may warrant particular attention to his C. lividus rehousing video.

basin79

ArachnoGod
I always use a tub. Take any decor out that's in the way then place a tub over the tarantula. Once I've done that I carefully slide a lid under making sure not to trap any legs. Snap the lid on and job done.

BoyFromLA

Spoon feeder
Arachnosupporter +
0. Prepare yourself.
1. Prepare the new enclosure.
2. Locate the tarantula.
3. Put two enclosures side by side.
4. Open both enclosures.
5. Gently lure out the tarantula.
6. Close the enclosures.

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
I typically just cup the spider and slide a lid under the cup to catch it. This method requires that you're not jumpy, though.

Remember, if you feel anxious or jumpy, relax for a moment. Stop what you're doing. Take a few deep breaths. Shake off the shakes. Then go back at it.

Mirandarachnid

Arachnobaron
For bolty sp. I take a piece of cardboard larger than the enclosure, cut a hole in it that's smaller than my catch cup and punch a hole for my paintbrush to go through on the opposite side.