Any Small(ish) New World Arboreals?

Regal Jumpers

Arachnopeon
I have a 8x8x12 tank set up to be semi/full tropical, and I'm new to tarantula keeping, but interested. I know that New World tend to be less aggressive, so that's what I'm going for. There's a Repticon coming up in my area, an I know that one of the vendors is a tarantula/scorpion breeder. I'm planning to get one from there. Any suggestions are very much appreciated!

Colorado Ts

Arachnoangel
"...Less Aggressive" is a term that some people will find offensive...Generally it is referred to as "...Less Defensive". I can see why the term "aggressive" is used so readily, and I understand and appreciate the usage of the term. Just be cognizant that there are those who are much less understanding.

For the dimensions of your enclosure, most any medium to small tarantula sized adult would be happy living in it. It would be much easier to see the enclosure and have a look at the depth of substrate, the hide or housing in the enclosure and how much open space is there from substrate to enclosure ceiling.

I will say that if the plants are not plastic and are in fact live plants, then you'll need solid cross ventilation so that the enclosure does not become a muggy hot house for your pet.

Vanisher

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Tapinauchenius sp and many Avicularia sp are rather small. Tappies tend to be fast and defenssive though!

Colorado Ts

Arachnoangel
I re-read the OPs initial post and I entirely missed the word "Arboreal" in the title of this thread...

So Yeah...I was talking about general species, not just arboreals.

Goodness

Thekla

Arachnoprince
Why did you make a new thread? :confused:

I already asked for pictures in your other thread to see how you set up your enclosure. It would be just easier to advise you.

Regal Jumpers

Arachnopeon
sry about the new thread, I just got on today, still figuring out the basics of this community tbh

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper