A. Geniculata Sling Care

beccadarling

Arachnopeon
Hi, I recently acquired an A. Geniculata sling (about 1/4") and was hoping to get some advise on its care. It's currently in a 2.25"LW x 4"H acrylic enclosure (mesh vent on top) with about an inch of coconut fiber, a light dusting of moss, and a small silk plant. This is my first time raising a sling so I'll take all the advice I can get, especially when it comes to feeding, thanks!

Nightstalker47

Arachnoking
1/4'' NW terrestrials do better in small enclosures. Go for something like this until it grows past the 2'' mark.

Small slings will be stressed in large open spaces and have a lessened feeding response, they are more likely to burrow and hide as well. Making them all the more difficult to monitor.

weibkreux

Arachnoknight
I think my genic is about the same size, showing its hungry side despite being so small. So much fun to watch.

beccadarling

Arachnopeon
You learn something new every day. Thanks so much for your help! I had no idea that he wouldn't like having more space but that makes total sense.

Thekla

Arachnoprince
As for feeding I'd say cut up mealworms are your best bet for a sling that small. They're just easy to apply and safe for your sling.

20180806_102952.jpg

You could also try baby roaches or crickets. But if you only have that one tiny sling, I honestly wouldn't bother with the hassle of keeping them alive right now.

Malo

Arachnopeon
But if you only have that one tiny sling, I honestly wouldn't bother with the hassle of keeping them alive right now.
That's a frustrating part. Pinhead crickets are great for this size and it's fun watching them chasing down the fast prey but it's a pain keeping them alive. If you have an LPS that carries pinhead and can buy like 6 at a time...

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer