1st time molt (noob owner)

Moyzie

Arachnosquire
Ok, I am still a noob. As much as I have cared for animals for 40 years, aside from looking after wild garden/house spiders - keeping T's is a new thing. But yesterday I had one of my 2 T's molt - the first time this has happened in my care. I feel more "pro" now :cool:

The one that molted is the salmon pink birdy, which despite owning since April - I have never seen him eat. He does though, he just waits until he can hear me snore, then he eats. Food has always been consumed by morning. Leg span from tip 2 tip is 4.5cm

I was thinking the lack of appetite was pre molt - but food was still be consumed. So, just shy i tell myself ? I kinda feel rejected as a pet owner, not getting to "enjoy" feeding live animals to another animal. Maybe, emotionally I am better off this way

Anyway, this week he got kinda wet during the enclosure misting process. Three days later he molted. My question, or query.... would the "drenching" he received, encouraged or made the molt process easier.

The internet is a dangerous place, people self diagnose life threatening diseases with misinformation. That said I saw multiple threads about spiders being too dry to molt. I dont think this was the case for me, I mist every 2ish days, 1 corner is damp. Water bowl full. T is happy either up at front, on the bark or 80% recently in the hide (pre molt?) - one thing i recall reading was spiders trapped in their molts and not being hydrated enough.

---

I wont be feeding him or her for a few more days, I look forward to seeing them out n about displaying the colours looking fresh (hopefully)

The other one looks very pre molt too. Fingers crossed :-D

Also, if he or she is now 4.5cm, when would it of been born ?!? The shop did not provide that info

ByMennen

Arachnosquire
Congratulations on the successful molt!