Tom Patterson

Arachnoboards Username
Philth
Previous Review/Report Link
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/philth-tom-patterson.53877/

Reviews summary

24
 
100%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
Overall rating
5.00 star(s) 24 ratings
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
4.96 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Great Seller, Breeder, and Expert
Purchase Date
August 28, 2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fast on Replies via. Email
  • Reasonable Prices
  • Very great quality spiders
  • Healthy Specimens
  • Great insulation and packaging
Cons
  • None.
Purchased some spiders from Tom and I'm one of his biggest fans. In the tarantula breeding world in the USA, Tom is regarded as one of the greatest tarantula/arachnid keeper and breeder there are. I've ordered some spiders from Tom and all were healthy active and alive. I recommend buying from Tom if you're looking for something of high quality and variety.
One member found this helpful.
Awesome prices, awesome buying experience
Purchase Date
2021.07.14
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Prompt communication
  • Prompt shipping
  • Great packaging
  • Great selection
  • Great prices
  • Beyond generous
Cons
  • Wanted to buy from him again immediately, RIP wallet
I had a great, great experience buying from Tom. I hesitate to share the extent of his generosity--I don't want other potential customers to approach him with unreasonable expectations. Still, it's only fair to give him the praise he's due.

I told him my order of 5 slings via e-mail. After paying for the invoice, I noticed the total price seemed short so I let him know. I asked if perhaps he forgot to include shipping/one of my animals was just unavailable, and to let me know if I had to pick another animal/make up the difference.

He replied he indeed forgot to include shipping, but said not to worry about it since I was so close. I was shocked--Fedex overnight can be pricy even for short distances, and it'd have been easy to just request I make up the difference. It was extremely gracious of him, and I was already sold on being a lifetime customer.

Imagine my surprise when I opened up the package and found not 5 slings, but 6! He had already given me free shipping, and I had happily taken that as an unexpected "freebie". And the price discrepency was discovered immediately after I paid--it's not as if he had already packed and shipped the animals. So to still pack an extra sling was really, really unnecessary. What's even more ridiculous is that it's a species I wanted (but couldn't justify getting), but there's no way he could've known that and I'm done praising him cause seriously it's getting to be too much.

Don't go in expecting this kind of generosity (I certainly won't); his prices and service are well worth it even without the freebies. But know all his good reviews are well deserved!
Purchase Date
4/23/2021
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Packing was great. Nice and damp towels
  • Freebie
I heard about Tom through my Facebook group, The tarantula collective. He seems so have a really good rep and I know why. All spiders came full of life and he gave me a cebu freebie and two stickers. Shipping only took 2 days, he sent them ASAP. Awesome working with Tom. He always has great options.
Excellent seller
Purchase Date
9/15/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Good communication
  • Came exactly as described
  • Products in great condition
  • Packing was done well
Cons
  • None
Easy buying, seller was quick to reply and sent my order the next day. All my spiders and tarantulas arrived in perfect condition, and I even got a freebie! I would definitely buy from this seller again.
Purchase Date
5/7/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great Communication
  • Great selection
  • Great prices
  • Perfect packaging
  • Healthy stock
  • All around very professional
Cons
  • None!
Tom is a great asset to the hobby! He will go out of his way to make you one happy customer. All 5 of my T’s came in excellent shape and I couldn’t be happier!! Check his stock out and you won’t be disappointed! Thanks Tom
Purchase Date
5/2/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Awesome freebies
  • Quality
Cons
  • None.
Great seller, will buy from him again without a doubt.
Purchase Date
2/7/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great prices
  • Unique selections
I have dealt with Tom on multiple occasions, all positive. Great communication, great specimens, and awesome prices!
Purchase Date
2019-12-07
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great variety of inverts. Fairly quick replies. Prices are reasonable. Inverts come in healthy and well fed.
I’ve bought a couple times from him and every time they came in good health. I really do like that he has pretty good variety of spider species. Below is a Harmicon I bought from him a while back.

Attachments

Purchase Date
2019-11-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Quick Shipment Rare Pets
Cons
  • Minor scuff on the centipede, but otherwise fine.
I ordered a scolopendra gigantea black from Tom and it was quick to receive him. He sent it the following week and gave me some freebies. Animals arrived perfectly fine.

The scolopendra gigantea had a missing forcipule but it's not so much a worry as they grow back. I assume he just missed it while packing.

No complaints otherwise.
Purchase Date
2019-08-16
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
4.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Outstanding packaging Good prices Cares for the wellbeing of the animals
Cons
  • Minor delays in communication
I ordered five Sicarius Thomisoides and a few Selenops radiatus from Tom. The shipping date we originally agreed on didnt work as they all went into premolt around that time. Not wanting to risk injury to the spiders, Tom delayed shipment for a few days until they had all molted. When they did arrive, I was pleased to find an incredibly well protected package with insulating, reflective styrofoam. Each specimen had been carefully packaged in a small vial with soft tissue; the Selenops had theirs slightly moistened. I had also received not only the free S. thomisoides but also three extra free S. radiatus besides the one I had paid for! They are all active and healthy. Most of the Sicarius immediately buried themselves and the Selenops explored every inch of their enclosure. Tom took a little longer than some other dealers to respond to certain emails and texts but this was a trivial issue. This was an overall satisfying experience and I'm very privileged to own my very own sand spiders courtesy of Tom Patterson.
Purchase Date
2019-08-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • -Cheap prices -Rare species -Great packing -Extremely responsive -Many freebies
Cons
  • None
I ordered 23 spiders from Tom and he threw in 6 freebies. His packing was great, and he was very responsive whenever I would send him an email. Easily the best experience I've ever had with a seller.
Purchase Date
2019-08-08
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Picked up two gorgeous specimens locally from Tom for a great price, and they make great additions to my collection! I wouldn't hesitate to do business with him again since he communicated well and the tarantulas I picked up are exactly as described!

Attachments

Purchase Date
2019-06-18
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • super secure packing, healthy animals, generous extras
Purchased an AF B. emilia, a couple Alipes sp. and a number of slings from Tom. All animals were in excellent condition, and were packed with precision to keep them that way :) Good pricing, bonuses, clear communication - will readily purchase some philth again.
Purchase Date
2018-12-14
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Extremely responsive via email, great selection of spiders, very low prices, ships immediately with perfect professional packaging... can't say enough good things, basically.
Cons
  • n/a
Ordered several tarantulas from Tom. He was extremely responsive via email even though it's around the holidays, and we quickly worked something out. He has an amazing and unique selection of spiders, very low prices, and shipped immediately with perfect professional packaging. Even threw in a couple of nice freebies for me! Everything arrived fat and happy despite shipping cross country in the middle of winter. Can't say enough good things... everyone should aspire to buy/sell/trade like this.
Purchase Date
2018-03-23
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Good prices Healthy specimens Prompt communication Great Packing Clearly labeled
Cons
  • Zero
I ordered a few slings from Tom and they all arrived healthy and as described.

I would not hesitate to do business again, Thanks Tom!
Purchase Date
2017-09-10
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Very nice guy. Takes pictures and does his best to show you what you are buying. Fast communication.
Bought a centipede from this seller. Fully intact, very beautiful specimen. He took the time to take many pictures before I bought it. All around good guy.
Purchase Date
2017-02-16
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fast response, impeccable packing, and excellent communication
Cons
  • none whatsoever
Purchased a female on a Thursday and she was shipped right out the very next Tuesday (only because Monday was a holiday). Highly recommend buying from Tom. Top-notch quality spiders with absolute trouble-free transactions. The man definitely knows his stuff and will not screw you around. Thanks, Tom!

Santeria_arrival(2-22-2017).jpg
Purchase Date
2017-02-17
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great communication, FB page, selection of animals, shipping, pricing, truly top notch
Cons
  • None
Great selection of hard to find animals, nice packaging methods and easy to communicate with. Highly recommended!
Purchase Date
2016-11-01
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Quick and informative communication. Great prices. Flexible with scheduling
Cons
  • None
Hey guys, my order from Tom just came in today. I ordered sunday night and he shipped them out the next day. I ordered a group of 5 Heteropoda lunula slings. He was very polite and answered any question I had about the spiders, as this is my first time keeping huntsmen spiders. His packaging was great. The spiders were secure and comfortable. And to make an already flawless transaction even better, he thru in some freebies. And extra H. lunula, 3 H. pingtungensis slings and 3 Barylestis scutatus slings. Yeah, 7 free slings! What an amazing deal!!!! I will definitely be ordering more from him very soon. Awesome experience.
Purchase Date
2016-09-27
Transaction Type
Breeding Loan
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • He's great guy to talk to and plan things out, loans in general are usually a hassle but Tom makes things easy.
Cons
  • None
Already had two males loaned out to me from Tom. Easy guy to work with and an easy going guy overall which are my kind of people. Planned the transaction quickly and was executed quickly-- last month I sent him half of the slings for the first loan and just recieved/paired the seconed loan from him. His packing is well put together and the second male he loaned me had some freebies along with them! Now loans are always risky business but Tom has shown me he is one of the few people you can put your trust in.

-JohnD.
Top