Tom Patterson

Arachnoboards Username
Philth
Previous Review/Report Link
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/philth-tom-patterson.53877/

Reviews summary

21
 
100%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
Overall rating
5.00 star(s) 21 ratings
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
4.95 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Excellent seller
Purchase Date
9/15/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Good communication
  • Came exactly as described
  • Products in great condition
  • Packing was done well
Cons
  • None
Easy buying, seller was quick to reply and sent my order the next day. All my spiders and tarantulas arrived in perfect condition, and I even got a freebie! I would definitely buy from this seller again.
Purchase Date
5/7/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great Communication
  • Great selection
  • Great prices
  • Perfect packaging
  • Healthy stock
  • All around very professional
Cons
  • None!
Tom is a great asset to the hobby! He will go out of his way to make you one happy customer. All 5 of my T’s came in excellent shape and I couldn’t be happier!! Check his stock out and you won’t be disappointed! Thanks Tom
Purchase Date
5/2/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Awesome freebies
  • Quality
Cons
  • None.
Great seller, will buy from him again without a doubt.
Purchase Date
2/7/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great prices
  • Unique selections
I have dealt with Tom on multiple occasions, all positive. Great communication, great specimens, and awesome prices!
Purchase Date
2019-12-07
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great variety of inverts. Fairly quick replies. Prices are reasonable. Inverts come in healthy and well fed.
I’ve bought a couple times from him and every time they came in good health. I really do like that he has pretty good variety of spider species. Below is a Harmicon I bought from him a while back.

Attachments

Purchase Date
2019-11-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Quick Shipment Rare Pets
Cons
  • Minor scuff on the centipede, but otherwise fine.
I ordered a scolopendra gigantea black from Tom and it was quick to receive him. He sent it the following week and gave me some freebies. Animals arrived perfectly fine.

The scolopendra gigantea had a missing forcipule but it's not so much a worry as they grow back. I assume he just missed it while packing.

No complaints otherwise.
Purchase Date
2019-08-16
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
4.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Outstanding packaging Good prices Cares for the wellbeing of the animals
Cons
  • Minor delays in communication
I ordered five Sicarius Thomisoides and a few Selenops radiatus from Tom. The shipping date we originally agreed on didnt work as they all went into premolt around that time. Not wanting to risk injury to the spiders, Tom delayed shipment for a few days until they had all molted. When they did arrive, I was pleased to find an incredibly well protected package with insulating, reflective styrofoam. Each specimen had been carefully packaged in a small vial with soft tissue; the Selenops had theirs slightly moistened. I had also received not only the free S. thomisoides but also three extra free S. radiatus besides the one I had paid for! They are all active and healthy. Most of the Sicarius immediately buried themselves and the Selenops explored every inch of their enclosure. Tom took a little longer than some other dealers to respond to certain emails and texts but this was a trivial issue. This was an overall satisfying experience and I'm very privileged to own my very own sand spiders courtesy of Tom Patterson.
Purchase Date
2019-08-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • -Cheap prices -Rare species -Great packing -Extremely responsive -Many freebies
Cons
  • None
I ordered 23 spiders from Tom and he threw in 6 freebies. His packing was great, and he was very responsive whenever I would send him an email. Easily the best experience I've ever had with a seller.
Purchase Date
2019-08-08
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Picked up two gorgeous specimens locally from Tom for a great price, and they make great additions to my collection! I wouldn't hesitate to do business with him again since he communicated well and the tarantulas I picked up are exactly as described!

Attachments

Purchase Date
2019-06-18
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • super secure packing, healthy animals, generous extras
Purchased an AF B. emilia, a couple Alipes sp. and a number of slings from Tom. All animals were in excellent condition, and were packed with precision to keep them that way :) Good pricing, bonuses, clear communication - will readily purchase some philth again.
Purchase Date
2018-12-14
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Extremely responsive via email, great selection of spiders, very low prices, ships immediately with perfect professional packaging... can't say enough good things, basically.
Cons
  • n/a
Ordered several tarantulas from Tom. He was extremely responsive via email even though it's around the holidays, and we quickly worked something out. He has an amazing and unique selection of spiders, very low prices, and shipped immediately with perfect professional packaging. Even threw in a couple of nice freebies for me! Everything arrived fat and happy despite shipping cross country in the middle of winter. Can't say enough good things... everyone should aspire to buy/sell/trade like this.
Purchase Date
2018-03-23
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Good prices Healthy specimens Prompt communication Great Packing Clearly labeled
Cons
  • Zero
I ordered a few slings from Tom and they all arrived healthy and as described.

I would not hesitate to do business again, Thanks Tom!
Purchase Date
2017-09-10
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Very nice guy. Takes pictures and does his best to show you what you are buying. Fast communication.
Bought a centipede from this seller. Fully intact, very beautiful specimen. He took the time to take many pictures before I bought it. All around good guy.
Purchase Date
2017-02-16
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Fast response, impeccable packing, and excellent communication
Cons
  • none whatsoever
Purchased a female on a Thursday and she was shipped right out the very next Tuesday (only because Monday was a holiday). Highly recommend buying from Tom. Top-notch quality spiders with absolute trouble-free transactions. The man definitely knows his stuff and will not screw you around. Thanks, Tom!

Santeria_arrival(2-22-2017).jpg
Purchase Date
2017-02-17
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great communication, FB page, selection of animals, shipping, pricing, truly top notch
Cons
  • None
Great selection of hard to find animals, nice packaging methods and easy to communicate with. Highly recommended!
Purchase Date
2016-11-01
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Quick and informative communication. Great prices. Flexible with scheduling
Cons
  • None
Hey guys, my order from Tom just came in today. I ordered sunday night and he shipped them out the next day. I ordered a group of 5 Heteropoda lunula slings. He was very polite and answered any question I had about the spiders, as this is my first time keeping huntsmen spiders. His packaging was great. The spiders were secure and comfortable. And to make an already flawless transaction even better, he thru in some freebies. And extra H. lunula, 3 H. pingtungensis slings and 3 Barylestis scutatus slings. Yeah, 7 free slings! What an amazing deal!!!! I will definitely be ordering more from him very soon. Awesome experience.
Purchase Date
2016-09-27
Transaction Type
Breeding Loan
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • He's great guy to talk to and plan things out, loans in general are usually a hassle but Tom makes things easy.
Cons
  • None
Already had two males loaned out to me from Tom. Easy guy to work with and an easy going guy overall which are my kind of people. Planned the transaction quickly and was executed quickly-- last month I sent him half of the slings for the first loan and just recieved/paired the seconed loan from him. His packing is well put together and the second male he loaned me had some freebies along with them! Now loans are always risky business but Tom has shown me he is one of the few people you can put your trust in.

-JohnD.
Purchase Date
2016-04-26
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • -great prices -huge variety -rare things -excellent packing -communication was fantastic
I ordered a multitude of true spiders, and Tom's prices were very fair. He was helpful through the entire transaction, and everybody arrived alive and well! He also sent 2 extra spiders, which was awesome! I would not hesitate to do business again.
Purchase Date
2016-02-06
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • great communication, flexibility, pricing, packaging
Cons
  • none
I received my package from Tom P in stellar condition. He had great communication with me as we watched the weather for good shipment time, and didn't even mind doing a special delivery day. All of the expected Ts were feisty, alive and well (even the ones as tiny of 1/8") and all have different personalities.

Not only did I get a freebie I expected (he even let me choose out of 3 options he sent me), but he also gave me two more of a species I had ordered.

Excellent transaction, and if he ever has more of what I am looking for, I will definitely purchase from him again. He has made a stellar first forum purchase for me.
Purchase Date
2016-02-02
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great prices, communication, packing, and some ridiculously cool freebies. His selection is also quite good with some truly unique species.
Cons
  • None at all
I'd been on the lookout for some P. crassipes and V. paranaensis when I saw Tom's recent add on the board. I picked up two slings of each species, along with a couple other tarantulas. Tom responded to all of my emails immediately, and had no problem holding my order to ship until temps warmed up a bit (in fact, he was all for it). While we waited for the weather to clear, I added another spider to my order, and Tom sent the invoice immediately. As soon as the temps warmed up, he got in contact with me and arranged for shipping. My animals arrived well packed and in great shape.

Now, I never expect a freebie, but I'm always quite excited when I discover one. Well, there wasn't just one freebie in the box, but four. FOUR. And these weren't common species either; I'm talkinga 3" P. muticus, Phlogius sp. "Eunice", Lampropelma sp. "Borneo Black" and L. crotalus. To say I was floored would be an understatement. I was already quite pleased with the deal I was getting on the seven tarantulas I ordered; the freebies made this probably the best deal I've ever received.

Just an amazing experience overall
; I will obviously be ordering from Tom again and would highly recommend him to anyone.
P.-muticus.jpg
N.-tripeppie.jpg
L.-crot.jpg
Top