• While everyone who posts in our classifieds must have a review item, not all dealers utilize the Arachnoboards classifieds.

    If you would like to review a dealer who does not have a review item please request that an item be created for the dealer in this thread.

Pinchers & Pokies Exotics, LLC

Arachnoboards Username
ErkW
Website
http://www.PinchersandPokies.com
Previous Review/Report Link
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/erkw.279647/

Reviews summary

25
 
100%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
Overall rating
5.00 star(s) 25 ratings
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
4.96 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.96 star(s)
Price
4.96 star(s)
Purchase Date
6/17/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Excellent communication
  • Fast shipping
  • great packaging
  • Variety
I purchased some scorpions and tarantuals from Pinchers and Pokies and they arrived the very next day in great health. Highly recommended!
Purchase Date
4/29/20
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
I have placed several orders with Erik and Amanda over the last several years and they have always been fantastic to work with. Excellent communication, healthy specimens, and professional packing. I will never hesitate to recommend Pinchers & Pokies!

Thanks again guys!
Purchase Date
3/26/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great , communicative service . Nice packaging , healthy Ts
Recently purchased two spiderlings from Pinchers and pokies. I was very happy with the packaging and how much effort they put into making sure they were wrapped up safe. the two tiny spiderlings were in individual drams that were padded with paper towels inside a small container, and that container was in a larger box that was also full of padding. My spiderlings were both lively and came out right away.

I was impressed with the specific information on their website regarding shipping. for example, they mentioned that on ship day you likely would receive your email really late in the day because they drop off late so the spiders don't have to sit at FedEx for a long time. they also responded to my questions about how many of certain species were in stock relatively quickly. I feel like the prices were fair.

My shipping price was higher than the estimate chart provided , but they did say it was only an estimate.

I will purchase from them again in the future.
Purchase Date
2019-10-11
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • - Huge variety of arachnids - Reasonable prices - Great communication - Reasonable shipping policy - The t. arrived healthy and packaging was super convenient
Cons
  • - Nope, none!
Purchased a P. murinus sling from Pokies & Pinchers online last week. I've been looking for an orange or red color form P. murinus for ages and Pokies was (as of last week anyway) the only one carrying them.

All-around it was an excellent experience and ended with my new sling arriving last night in good form. A huge plus for this experience over what I've come to expect is that when they packaged my sling, they put a paper towel cap on the inside of both the top and bottom ends of the vial the sling shipped in, allowing me to remove the bottom cap and nudge the sling out of the paper towel wrapping from the back end. So much better than unwrapping the entire thing and hoping and praying the sling would run in the right direction! You guys rock!
Purchase Date
2019-08-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Purchased a Ephebopus murinus and the specimen arrived quickly and safely, and is honestly one of the most beautiful spiders in my entire collection. I'm already looking forward to doing business with them again!
Purchase Date
2019-07-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • great variety, great customer service, good prices.
Cons
  • none
Overall you can tell they're great people from the way they treat their customers and critters. Never pushy to sell, patient with all questions; and I had a lot of them! And the way they kept their critters you can tell they're there just not to sell but also care for them.
Price were pretty standard when it came to rare species, and actually lower than most for common species.
Purchase Date
2019-06-21
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • -excellent communication -great customer service -knowledgeable -reasonable pricing -remarkable Ts
Cons
  • None
I am pretty local to where they are located, so I was able to meet in person to collect the slings I purchased. Naturally I was excited, and the slings are beautiful. It has only been a night since I've had them, and they are responsive, active, and have already eaten. I will 100% be ordering from them again, and also hope to see them at some of the repticons in the area, which I was given some information about when I met up. (Side note: Pretty cool as there are several and each one has different regulations on which animals they have.) It is very clear that they care about their critters and their customer service, and also have more than reasonable pricing for their critters too. Five stars all across the board.
Purchase Date
2018-08-18
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Absolutely everything. From initial communication, to prompt shipping, packaging and quality.
Cons
  • None
Erik and Amanda take great pride in what they do and it shows. I will definitely make them my go to from here on out. Thanks again.
Purchase Date
2018-08-04
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Answered my emails kindly and quickly Good prices Held for Pickup Good packaging Use cold/heat packs Healthy tarantulas
Cons
  • N/A
I was really excited to find a place selling A. chalcodes at a great size and price, and I was completely set once I saw they also had decent-sized slings of C. versicolor. I messaged them and got a reply the next day. We arranged to have the package held for pickup, which is really necessary for me because of my work schedule. I was able to pick them up as soon as FedEx opened. The tarantulas were well-packaged and healthy, immediately exploring their new homes.

I would definitely buy from here again, and I've already recommended them to other invert keepers. :)
Purchase Date
2018-04-29
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Had what I was looking for at the right price.
Cons
  • None
Had what I was looking for for my son's bday.
I perused a lot of sites looking for a T off his list, and a scorpion. They happened to have both at good prices. The Obt came as only a crazy t can, and the scorp was very well fed and takin care of
Purchase Date
2018-03-03
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
4.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Amazing customer service They know the Latin names for their scorpions They responded to all my emails and did so real fast. Scorpions I got are healthy no missing legs or feet I've seen some people from different vendors get scorpions with missing feet. Great packaging (from repticon) they even gave them a hide.
Cons
  • I have none!
Amazing customer service I bought a asian forest (heterometrus spinnefer) scorpion that was out of stock so they gave me 2 of the Asian forest scorpions they did have in stock (heterometrus Longinimus) I am happy with the way they handle situations like this especially since I was at repticon and their is people all over the place asking questions.

They new what the Latin names of their scorpions were Wich i appreciate I went to another breeder and they didn't know what scorpion they had. When I asked he said " O please don't make me give you the Latin name , don't make me lie to you" I am happy that Pinchers and pokies know what they have.

Most of the scorpions being sold were in a dish with eco earth only ,but pinchers and pokies had a hide for them, The extra care even when selling them is great to see.

They gave me tips on feeding and care in general I appreciate it especially as I am new to caring for scorpions. They responded to all my email quickly and they would ask me questions to give me a better answer I like the extra effort they put in giving you the best answer it shows they do care.

The next time I get an arachnid I will buy it from pinchers pokies.
Purchase Date
2017-03-24
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • * Fast and reliable communications. * Great selection of stuff. * Perfect prep and packing for shipping (the best packing I've seen yet). * Super nice people. They appreciate their customers and the animals they offer. * Clean and simple website.
Cons
  • Bernie Madoff, Frank Abagnale Jr.,...oops... Um.... No cons what so ever. Other dealers/sellers should model themselves after Pinchers and Pokies. Must I say more?
Found this dealer here on Arachnoboards... Certain species of scorpions aren't easy to aquire lately and they had a gorgeous species I've never owned. So I placed my order and scooped up the last four parabuthus schlechteri they had. The sellers are friendly, super nice people that seem to be more than happy to please their customers. It's obvious they love the hobby, the animals and appreciate being able to spread the love of the these animals. They have a great selection. My transaction went as smooth as silk. Thanks again!!!!! You will hear from me again!
Purchase Date
2016-12-23
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
I had been wanting to add some new scorpions to my inverts for a while when in early December I saw Tom Moran's unpacking video from Pinchers & Pokies and decided to check them out and I'm very pleased that I did. When I looked at their scorpion availability I was impressed with how diverse and unique it was. I immediately knew that once the holidays passed I was going to place an order and I did.

Their website is laid out very professionally, and navigating through all menus is a breeze. The whole ordering process is very straightforward and simple. Communication was good and friendly, and their customer service is A+ all the way.

I ended up purchasing 8 scorpions and a female tarantula ( Heteroscodra maculata)on December 23 and asked them to hold off shipping until after the new year holiday, which they did with no problems. Packing was suberb and everything was clearly labeled. The quality of the inverts was top notch. They weren't just healthy they were thriving and I appreciated that.

Overall I couldn't of asked for a smoother transaction or better customer service and highly recommended checking their site out, and I'm sure I will be a repeat customer in the future.
Purchase Date
2016-11-07
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Competitive Prices On-Time Delivery Very Good Communications for delivery schedule
Cons
  • Surprise Freebie
When I placed this order I was able to get a Psalms ecclesiasticus when I could not find it elsewhere. The T's arrived on the agreed delivery date. Communications went well with automatic order reply from the website in combination with a personal email to confirm ship date. The T's were healthy and packaging for them was very good.

The only negative was the surprise freebie of an OW Tarantula. At that time I was in doubt on my desire to move to tarantulas that have much more potent venom. Now that I have owned the H. Gigas for a while I am satisfied to have this T in my collection.

I will continue to look at their website for potential future orders.
Purchase Date
2016-10-31
Transaction Type
Trade
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • great communication and excellent packing
Cons
  • none
I couldn't be happier with the trade. every thing arrived healthy and on time and I'm especially grateful for the excellent suggestions he gave me when I told him that I couldn't make up my mind.
Purchase Date
2016-09-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • -Beautiful healthy specimens -Wonderful communication -Great packaging -Trustworthy
Cons
  • n/a
I've been meaning to post this for awhile. I bought two slings about a month ago that I had really been wanting from Pinchers N Pokies

I stumbled upon Erik and Amanda's website Pinchersandpokies.com I believe from Tom Moran's unboxing video of them which he only had great things to say about.

They had exactly what I was looking for on their website, a C. cyaneopubescens sling and a B. smithi sling. I purchased the two and sent them a quick email and they were very quick to respond! Almost instantaneous which was great. We carried out a conversation and they were very easy to talk to, sociable, friendly, almost like old friends. I felt very comfortable asking them any questions I might have. They asked if I had any other inverts beside tarantulas and I told them I hadn't but was interested in scorpions and maybe would buy some in the future.

My package arrived the next day after they shipped it and I was so excited to get my beautiful healthy new slings and to my suprise and excitement they had thrown in a pair of C. gracilis scorpions! I was so stoked about that.

All around I would say everything was perfect and I was more then pleased with the service and condition of the specimens. Probably the best customer service I have experienced with any dealer so far and I will definitely order from them in the future.

Thank you so, so much Erik and Amanda! Keep up the good work, you guys are the kind of people that make this hobby what it is.

-Ashley S.
Purchase Date
2016-09-17
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • • great selection • knowledgeable and friendly • tarantulas appear to be well cared for; they had more space to move around than most of the other vendors gave their tarantulas
Cons
  • I don't have enough space to buy more of their tarantulas!
I prefer to purchase animals in person, and they live only a few miles from me, so it works out well. This time I found them at Repticon Charleston and purchased a Chromatopelma cyaneopubescens sling. (I only get about 1-2 tarantulas per year; I'd happily get more if I had more space to house them.)

They are really helpful and patient, even with less experienced keepers.
Purchase Date
2016-09-17
Transaction Type
Trade
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Quality, Selection, Service & Price!
Cons
  • None
I finally had the opportunity to meet Erik & Amanda with Pinchers & Pokies Exotics at our local Repticon show in Charleston, SC this weekend. If you are considering purchasing from them - do not hesitate! They have a great selection of well cared for arachnids - if you look on their well organized website what you see in their photos is exactly what you're getting. Its great to see a family who are both fully vested into this business, which shows in the quality of their inventory, their professionally run operation and their enthusiasm for this hobby. I picked up a five healthy Brachy tarantulas from them at the show and I look forward to doing business with them in the future...
Purchase Date
2016-05-08
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great variety of T's and scorps Pricing ranged from average to great leaning towards good Communication was prompt
Cons
  • None other than I wound up with less money in my bank account :p
I ordered a pair of R. junceus scorplings, four C. gracilis WC adults (that was a "mistake" lol, I'll explain in a moment), and maybe a T. gigas. My initial order was met with a "Just a heads up that I am getting a new shipment this week and wanted to give you the best possible selection before processing your order. Here's a sample of what I'm getting, I'll send you a full list when I have inventoried everything."

I changed my order up a little bit, iirc, and was very happy I was given that heads up. Communication was great and order was held until the weather here in Denver was more acceptable. The gracilis were pretty sluggish, one I thought might be dead but I knew to be patient and it eventually "woke up". I didn't think to inquire about heat packs as other dealers have always just thrown them in when temps were that cool. Other than that everyone was fine and are still going strong. Speaking of going strong, remember the gracilis "mistake" comment?

Yeah, well, a week and a half after receiving my order (plus a freebie) one of the female gracilis gave birth to about 30 scorplings. Surprise! A couple months later just as I'm getting ready to start getting rid of those I come home from work and discover another brood of around 20 lol. *sigh* I wanted a communal colony but have since separated them as I don't want to deal with that many scorplings especially a common, native species lol. They are really cool to watch grow and have great prey aggression. Get some!

Anyway, I'll order from P&P again, without a doubt. Just a matter of having the right species at the right price when I have the right money :) I highly recommend them, top notch dealer to do business with!
Purchase Date
2016-07-31
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Prompt replies, perfect packing, excellent specimens
Cons
  • none
Purchased 0.0.4 Phyllocrania paradoxa and they were shipped the very next day. Seller replied to questions very promptly and was very helpful.
mantis4.jpg
Couldn't be happier. Thank you very much!
Top