Joe Rossi

Arachnoboards Username
JoeRossi
Previous Review/Report Link
http://arachnoboards.com/threads/joe-rossi.131093/

Reviews summary

233
 
100%
1
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
0
 
0%
Overall rating
5.00 star(s) 234 ratings
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
4.94 star(s)
Purchase Date
2019-01-08
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Long time lurker here. I joined these boards for ready access to fantastic suppliers like Mr Rossi. This was my first transaction with the man and will most definitely not be my last. I purchased 0.0.3 Poecilotheria metallica for an early birthday present for myself. Within hours of my first message to him on these boards, we were in direct contact via text for the arrangements (We even had a nice chat on Poecilotheria and their current/future inclusion in the ESA). His price wasn't the cheapest that I had found, but he was able to offer me a package deal that put him in the same neighborhood as the others. I was happy to pay the little bit extra purely for his success rate and the professionalism I have read about in the other reviews. The money was well spent. The metallica were shipped the same day and arrived around 8 am at a shipping center the next day. (Joe managed to send me a text telling me they arrived even before I got the notification from FedEx). I picked the package up after work at 3pm. I was a little concerned with the size of the package, but when I opened it, my thoughts on the matter were set aside. The box looked insulated enough to survive an arctic trip! Even though the heat pack was cool to the touch by that time, a probe thermometer placed between the 0.75" reflective foil foam that lined the box and what appeared to be dense recycled cloth insulation that it was packed with measured 75.9 degrees. Inside were three precious, little vial packed slings, all healthy and alive. Within 48 hours, two have molted and the third has taken a meal. Overall, this whole experience has been enjoyable. From the communication with a dealer as passionate as myself to the hassle free logistics and ultimate acquisition of these healthy little ones. I can't recommend Mr Rossi's products and customer service enough. I look forward to doing business with him again in the very near future.

Thanks,
--Matt
Purchase Date
2019-09-21
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Excellent selection, friendly service, great presentation, competitive prices, lets you pick your specimen.
Cons
  • Cash only at shows, so bring the dollars
I think I've bought about 1/4 of my spiders from Joe at the local expos. He's always been super nice and friendly from the beginning, when I was a noob getting interested in the hobby and picking up my first tiny slings.

He's always had a great selection of healthy specimens, and is happy to show you them to make sure that you're comfortable with their size and condition before you buy. Every spider I've bought from him has been in excellent health and was/are amazing eaters.

Saturday, I drove down to the Reptilian Nation expo in Del Mar to pick up a Cyriocosmus giganteus he got in for me. He let me choose from a selection of four .5" slings that he had on hand and we chatted for a while before I bought another Cyriocosmus elegans from him, as the specimen I purchased from him in May 2018 matured out male in March this year.

Both slings are doing great, burrowed in their new vials and tucked into a meal already. I'm extremely happy with them and will totally continue to shop with Joe in the future!
Purchase Date
2019-09-24
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
4.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Joe is a cool dude. Great customer service, great packaging, and awesome knowledge.
Cons
  • Cons? What kinda question is this? There was no con. Dudes got my respect
Great communication all the way around. I ordered a pair of 3” Dominican Purple and 4 Orphnaecus Philippinus from Joe. Packaged very well.
Just so happened that 2 of the 4 Tangerines ended up being DOA. I reported it to Joe right away, and he offered me a credit on my next purchase.
Well we had agreed that LAG was voided prior to me getting my package due to my shipping needs. I reminded him of the agreement and he went above and beyond that and offered a freebie on my next purchase. Pretty Darn nice fella if you ask me.
A++ kinda guy and I’ll def buy from him again.
Oh and don’t hesitate to ask him a question, he’s on it and will answer back real fast.
Purchase Date
2019-09-20
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • As a newcomer to the hobby, he was really helpful and answered all the questions I had. He even went to the trouble of measuring slings and sending pictures so I could see for myself when I inquired about the size of some of them. Incredible selection and great pricing as well.
Cons
  • Absolutely none! Unless, too many pros is a con? Haha!!!
Ordered 4 slings from him and the entire process was incredibly easy. He is definitely a top notch dealer. If you're hesitant to buy from someone in a forum online, don't be. His track record speaks for itself, and I will certainly be ordering from him in the future!
Purchase Date
2016-02-06
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Good price. Same as described
Cons
  • None
I will keep this short and to the point. Bought a 4" female Aphonopelma steindachneri (formerly A reversum) from Joe, and like the previous two purchases from him, I am pleased with this transaction. Price was good, communication was good, packaging was good, and there were no delays in shipping. I recommended buying from Mr Rossi.

Attachments

Purchase Date
2019-09-20
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Originally was only going to order a few spiders as I had located 4 others I needed before finding Joe. Payday came and he was sold out of 3 and only had one of the 4 I originally wanted. Luckily he was putting in an import order that day and was not only able to fill the 4 I wanted but matched the prices for the other 4 I wanted. When his import order came in it was short 1 spider and he let me pick 2 slings to replace it. One spiderling was DOA and he promptly refunded it. One sling was iffy and died 3 days later and once again he immediately refunded the money for that sling as well which I have to say is rare. Very fair and generous guy and will definitely order again.
Purchase Date
2018-03-01
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Good communication and generous.
We're both in southern CA and were about to work out a time to meet. I bought a couple non tarantulas that are not particularly common. He was certainly generous. I look forward to getting more spiders from him in the future.
Purchase Date
2017-04-02
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Packaged carefully and I had them in my house the next day
Cons
  • None.
The three slings I ordered came in looking active and healthy. I'll definitely be coming back for more.
Purchase Date
2019-10-08
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Everything you would expect from a top notch seller
Cons
  • None
Joe was very accommodating with me as i tried to put in a group order over the course of a week with some local hobbyists. All were packaged very well and arrived on time. Communication is on point too. if i asked a questionit was usually only a few minutes for a response.
Purchase Date
5/4/20
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great selection, communication, packing and quality of spiders upon arrival
Cons
  • Nada
My experience was a great one with Joe Rossi! He answered all my questions quickly and provided pictures of the actual slings I wanted to buy. His shipping was fast and packing even better! When I couldnt make it to FedEx to get my package he called me to personally make sure things were ok and that I would be able,to get the package soon. He cares a lot about his inverts and takes pride in what he does and it shows! Thanks Joe it was a pleasure and I will be back!
One member found this helpful.
Purchase Date
5/4/2020
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great Communication, Quick Response Time, Quick Shipping, Excellent Packaging
Cons
  • None
Joe is a very easy person to work with, very informative and willing to help and answer any questions or concerns you may have. Beautiful and healthy Tarantulas as described and pictured. I will remain in contact with Joe and definitely will purchase again! A++
One member found this helpful.
Purchase Date
2019-02-03
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Quick turn-around Quick shipping Awesome packaging
After being put into a bind by another seller (not here), Joe was quickly able to help us out, and get an order out next day (Sunday was when I placed). He was great on communication, and updated often during the fedex shipping (i.e. when it was in town). I was completely happy with the packaging and insulation.

Will be buying again, VERY soon!
Purchase Date
2018-02-04
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great communication, good prices, good packing, high quality, healthy livestock.
Cons
  • Joe is an Enabler. He enables one to expand their collection beyond the original plan. :-)
I happened to contact Joe shortly before he placed an order for import. This was to my advantage as there was a bigger list to choose from.
Because the shipment was pending, I did not actually take delivery on my order for almost a month. (Also to my advantage as it gave me time to prepare.) Joe maintained excellent communication and kept me informed every step of the way. This, unfortunately for my pocketbook, allowed me to add on to my order.
Upon arrival to Joe's, the one species I ordered came in as 4 juveniles versus 6 slings. This was beyond Joe's control, and the change was acceptable to me.
Joe got my package out promptly and it was delivered just as a vicious nor'easter hit the east coast leaving me without power for three days. (Unpacking spiders by flashlight was a new experience...) All were well packaged, toasty and hit the substrate running. Included were two great freebies.
Once I replenish the spider fund, I will definitely be ordering from Joe again. I highly recommend him.

ETA: Joe shipped FedEx, Hold for Pickup. This was ideal due to both family and storm circumstances.
Purchase Date
2019-02-07
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great communication, great selection, very knowlegeable, and convenient for my location
I am fortunate enough to live an hour away from JoeRossi, making my T purchase a quick and easy experience! He was very easy to communicate with, very knowlegeable, and has an amazing selection! He even suggested a great pick-up spot in his area, a reptile/invert shop, which was worth the trip in itself! It had its own T selection, and everything i needed to supplement my purchase! (Plus, every reptile you can think off! My family LOVED it!) Now that i know we're so close, i'll be contacting him when i'm looking to pick up a few more T's for my collection. An hour away! I can get my T's the same day, and i won't have to worry about DOA's! Overall, my best experience yet!

Thanks again, JoeRossi! I couldn't be happier with my purchase!
Purchase Date
2017-09-12
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Joe was very helpful and patient with my numerous "new owner" questions. Pictures were great. Packaging, shipping, and communication were perfect.
Cons
  • Absolutely none.
A+ transaction with Joe. He was very patient with my numerous "new owner" questions. Joe sent pics of the T which was great. Shipping and packaging were ideal. Communication was excellent. I recommend Joe very highly. Thank you!
Purchase Date
2017-04-06
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Excellent customer service!! Great communication!! Fantastic inventory!
Cons
  • None
Just received 3 Diversipes from Joe in great condition with excellent packaging.

The overnight shipment was delayed due to weather and Joe went out of his way to stay in contact with FedEx and myself in order to expedite the delivery. In fact, he knew the package was delayed before I did.

A true professional with top notch communication and quick shipping!
Purchase Date
2018-06-28
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Amazing selection, great prices, great shipping practices, very responsive, quick turnaround
Cons
  • Only one minor issue that wasn't Joe's fault (see summary) and was corrected quickly
I got back into the tarantula hobby after being out of it for a little over a decade, and found Joe through this site. After seeing how great his reviews were and how expansive his selection was, I ordered five slings from him at very reasonable prices (which were further discounted by exceeding the $250 mark).
Joe was very quick to respond to communications and answer any questions. He also included a generous freebie with my order which was a wonderful surprise.
All of the packing was done very carefully, but despite that careful attention to detail one of the slings did unfortunately arrive DOA - definitely at no fault of Joe's. I let Joe know and I immediately put her in ICU, just in case, but sadly she didn't make it. I kept Joe in the loop throughout the process and he was more than happy to provide a refund.
All in all, despite that unfortunate loss it was a very positive experience and Joe definitely has earned my repeat business for future orders - and I highly recommend going through him for yours.
I only feel bad that it's taken me almost a month to get this review posted! Sorry Joe!
Purchase Date
2017-09-13
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Great selection of species, great prices, quick communication, extremely friendly, shipped fast and packaged arrived in perfect condition, no DOAs.
Cons
  • None
Joe was extremely helpful and overall we had a great experience buying from him. Any time we need another spiderling, we are coming to Joe. Thanks!
Purchase Date
2019-10-24
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
4.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • The sling is very young and I get to raise it from being tiny and see it molt many times. He had a wide variety available, including pamphos. Seems experienced and very knowledgeable. He didn't try to push a species on me which I didn't care for or which I was not experienced enough to take care of.
Cons
  • It was a long drive to lake elsinore, but it's probably for the best that I picked up instead of shipped. The capsule the gbb was in was very tiny and I wasn't sure how to comfortably transport the guy home without stress. But maybe I'm just being neurotic.
From the start Joe was warm and communicative and pointed me to colorful hardy species that would be manageable for a new hobbyist to care for. I got a 3rd/4th instar GBB from him for a very reasonable price, and I plan to buy at least a few pamphos, and versicolor slings from him in the future. When my schedule was hectic he was flexible and arranged for me to pick up at LLLreptile in lake elsinore. I cannot believe I got such a great deal from someone local outside a reptile show. So pleased and thanks again, Joe!
Purchase Date
2016-06-14
Transaction Type
Purchase
Quality
5.00 star(s)
Variety
5.00 star(s)
Communication
5.00 star(s)
Packaging
5.00 star(s)
Price
5.00 star(s)
Would you purchase from again?
Yes
Pros
  • Communication - Very open to messages , Great Pricing, Great Selection
Was looking for P. sp. 'all green' and Joe had them and at a great price! Also, cannot thank him enough, sent me an X. intermedia that I've been eyeing even though I didn't have enough money at the time (set up a payment plan). Great packaging, one of the best I've seen, the animals literally just walked right out and were very lively. Great communication, it was my first time having a box held at the Fedex location and I must have been a bit annoying with the questions, but Joe answered them all and was not annoyed at all!

All in all, will do business with him again 100%!
Top