• While we have report items for many species, there are many more that we do not, currently, have report items for.

    If you would like to leave a breeding/bite/sting report for a species that does not currently have a report item in the appropriate category, please request that one be created in this thread.

    Once the item has been created, you will be provided with a link to post your report.

Tarantula Avicularia avicularia

Common Names
Pinktoe
Previous Review/Report Link
https://arachnoboards.com/threads/avicularia-avicularia.13647/

Breeding Report details

Latest reviews

Avicularia avicularia breeding report
Initial Breeding Date
February 13, 2020
Successful
Yes
Special Notes
Both specimens molted in late December, with my male maturing at that time. The female had been successfully bred before and is of indeterminate age, having been purchased as an adult 4 years ago. I received her on loan from a friend the first weekend in January.

I received her in a top-opening food storage container, so I rehoused her into an Exo Terra Nano Tall for better access and fed her well for the next month. I also placed their enclosures right next to each other for about a week prior to pairing and did not pair them until there was evidence of a sperm web.
Pairing
I thoroughly cleaned my tub with a vinegar and dish soap solution prior to pairing and let it air out for a few days before putting their enclosures in there side by side and opening them up completely (lid off of the Exo Terra, door open). I sat on the side of the tub and played them sexy music while I read to them from an erotic novel for my own personal amusement. The male emerged from his enclosure and made his way over to the female's enclosure with his most impressive swagger, where they paired awkwardly and slid down the side. It was like watching a sex scene from a David Cronenberg movie.
Observations
The pairing was brief. I could not see insertion with my eyeballs, but I did see the male's legs stop flailing for a moment, so I hoped it happened. The female eventually broke away and retreated to the other side of the enclosure, so I returned the male to his enclosure and wrapped up the session.

I attempted pairing again a month later, which neither party had any interested in, and again a month after that, which was probably unnecessary, but I wasn't seeing any difference in behavior or changes in the female's physique that told me that the first pairing was successful and my male was starting to look ratty.
Post Mating Care
I continued to feed the female as much as she wanted to eat, but she often refused food and eventually stopped altogether. I did nothing else special for her care. My apartment has central air and is 74 degrees, although her enclosure was next to the warm side of the snake enclosure, so it might have been a few degrees warmer over there.
Time & Care
Initial pairing, prob successful: Feb 13, 2020
Second attempt, failed: March 15, 2020
Third attempt, successful: April 13, 2020
Web chamber built: April 25-29, 2020
Egg sac discovered: May 12, 2020
Male deceased: June 4, 2020 :(
Egg sac pulled: June 10, 2020
Incubated 74 eggs, 24 of which were EWL at the time of pulling the sac
Final Details
Out of 74 total eggs, only 24 were viable and one of those did not make it to 1i. Ended up with 23 healthy 2i spiderlings by July 9, 2020
This was my first breeding project, so I decided to start with Avicularia avicularia, as I heard they are the easiest to pair and get a sac from, and the sacs are a manageable size.

Despite doing as much research as possible before starting, I found that it was difficult to get guidance by casually asking for it here on the boards, so I felt as though I was winging it much of the time. I believe a person trying to breed tarantulas for the first time would greatly benefit from securing committed help from one or two mentors before starting this process instead of soliciting general guidance.

I had trouble deciding whether or not to pull the sac or leave it with the mother, but ultimately decided to pull and incubate at 30 days because the thought of chasing potentially 100+ spiderlings around an enclosure sounded like a nightmare. From there, everything that happened is well documented in my thread where I was asking about incubators.

Overall, I am disappointed that so many of the eggs turned out to be duds, but I found the process incredibly rewarding and would like to try again.




IMG_9850.JPG
2 members found this helpful.
Initial Breeding Date
2016-04-02
Successful
Yes
Special Notes
Heavily fed the female for about a week before pairing.
Pairing
I used one male for pairing. Introduced him into females enclosure, however each actual pairing took place on the outer walls of her enclosure (as it was a little small for them both to move about).
Observations
My plan was to pair once a week until there were 3 successful pairings. Every other pairing was unsuccessful (female more vigorous than the male and would scared him). So I would feed them both and try again the very next day for another successful pairing, and repeat again the next week.
Post Mating Care
Rehoused female May 20th.

Flooded females enclosure May 28th.

Temperatures raised from 70-75 to 75-80 on May 28th.
Time & Care
Female dropped sac 70 days from initial pairing. I left the female alone with it. Pulled sac at day 26. Opened sac same day I pulled to find first instars. None were bad.
Final Details
Molted into second instars, 28 days after pulling sac. 100 made it to second instar from my original 167 first instars.
This was a very easy pairing and I saw no defensiveness from either during the entire process.

Here's a little extra information:

Female molted: February 11, 2016

Male matured: February 21, 2016

Recieved male: April 1, 2016

Female was very aggressively trying to pair with the male. During one pairing, she was so vigorous she knocked him down, where he landed on his back and crawled away from her on the carpet on his back several inches. It was an unusual sight. She continued tapping for him.











One member found this helpful.

Breeding Report information

Category
Breeding Reports
Added by
Arachnoboards
Views
5,395
Reviews
2
Last update
Rating
4.00 star(s) 2 ratings

More in Breeding Reports

More from Arachnoboards

Share this Breeding Report

Top