Worried for my A Avicularia

warhorse333

Arachnopeon
20180717_232732.jpg 20180717_232724.jpg
My A Avic hasn't eaten in a month and this position it's in is worrying. I know the first thing at least a couple of you guys think is, "Oh boy, here's another amateur keeper who's been overmisting and is gonna unknowingly kill it's and it'll be written off as another case of SADS". And while I am an amateur keeper (probably even lower actually), I did enough research to know that moisture and stuffy enclosures kills Avics. As you can see in the six months I've had it it hasn't webbed in the slightest. Or molted. And while I've considered premolt as the cause of it's fast I also tried to introduce dubia roaches about 2 weeks ago and have fed nothing else. It has eaten none of them and 2 are hiding in it's enclosure. I should've reverted back to crickets, I'm stupid, I know. Anyway someone please help. I love watching this thing and I'm really worried. And here's a picture of it's whole enclosure, maybe it's too small, idk.
20180717_232736.jpg

tewebag

Arachnoknight
I am not seeing any cross ventilation holes, do you have those?

Check it's pedipalps, do they have pink on the end of them still?

Thekla

Arachnoprince
Okay, I assume there's a water dish somewhere in the enclosure and it also has enough ventilation. Otherwise, it doesn't look too bad. ;)

But if this is your presumed mature male, it probably won't eat that much in his remaining days. So, it's actually quite normal. Just make sure it has access to water.

viper69

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
There's NO SUCH THING AS SADS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Last edited:

warhorse333

Arachnopeon
There's NO SUCH THING AS SADS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!