Worried about my Grammostola Pulchripes

Brian176

Arachnopeon
I got a new G.P sling about 2 weeks ago at a half inch, and it hasn't eaten yet. I've tried different prey items, pre-killed and alive, of various sizes as well. It was very lethargic when I unboxed it and it has remained as such. It built a large burrow but covered it up and has been in there for a week straight. I can see it through the side and it's alive. Usually I'll see a bit of substrate movement but I'm really worried it hasn't eaten. I thought it might be in pre-molt but can it last this long? Any one have any advice?
P.s. I'm new to this hobby and have 3 other slings all doing very well. They've all been eating well and regularly every 3 days, I don't know what to do for my G.P.

Ztesch

Arachnoknight
Well you could remove some of the dirt at the entrance of the burrow and leave A prekilled prey of your choice next to it. That way if it wants to eat it can but its most likely in premolt.

Nightstalker47

Arachnoking
Pre molt is pretty clear with G.pulchripes IME, check to see if the abdomen has darkened at all...these are usually great eaters.

Pics of the T and enclosure are always helpful.

Brian176

Arachnopeon
Okay, I'll try leaving it some more food and opening up the burrow a little. Wow months? I didnt know it could last so long when they are slings. And the abdomen was dark when it arrived but I haven't gotten a good look at it for about a week. I only have one pic of it before it burrowed, when it first arrived.

Attachments

The Grym Reaper

Arachnoreaper
Just leave it be until after it moults, it's not uncommon to get slings that are already in pre-moult, my B. smithi didn't eat for 2 months after I got it before finally moulting, my G. sp. 'Concepcion' didn't eat for a month after I got it before moulting and my T. ockerti/P. atrichomatus both ate once and then went into pre-moult (the latter for over a month).