why does tkg recommend obt?

jrh3

Araneae
Arachnosupporter +
so why does tarantulakeeper.blogspot recommend a obt as a beginner T? im getting comfortable with my collection and likely soon to get an old world. why is obt on there? if i was to get obt i dont want a pet hole. i want something that will be visible and terrestrial, is this a good option or not? i have been keeping NW for a few months and dont mind the wait but is an obt a good idea to meet my requirements? something i can see daily?

grimmjowls

Arachnoknight
There are some "bridge" species, if I'm not mistaken, that are good to ease you into the OW species.

People on here are going to tell you to wait, especially if you've only been keeping for a few months. That is a given. But ultimately, it is up to you to decide if you're ready for that kind of commitment and risk factor or not. You know how 'ready' you are, better than anyone else. And no one can stop you and slap your wrist, and say you can't have what you want.

I think you'd be best off listening to some opinions of the more experienced keepers here, just to gain some more insight, before you make a decision. Hopefully they aren't rude and trample you over wanting to get an OW.

From what I understand (and I'm new to the hobby so take what I say with a grain of salt for inexperience), you could get an arboreal NW first. They're faster than NW terrestrial, and it would be a good step in the right direction.

jrh3

Araneae
Arachnosupporter +
No. And no. You aren't experienced enough, and it would grow too fast. Just wait a bit dude.
i dont mind waiting at all. just more curious why they are listed from the tkg as beginners? im comfortable with what i have i just like the colors the OW have. Im sure i could keep with no issues because im very cautious but i do believe in listening to old time keepers. why should i start to consider a OW?

Flexzone

Arachnodemon