1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Which Australian tarantula do you recommend?

Discussion in 'Tarantula Chat' started by hyllusgiganteus, Dec 3, 2013.

1. hyllusgiganteus

hyllusgiganteus Arachnopeon

Advertisement
    As a beginner, I don't want to start with aggressive species, especially Selenocosmia crassipes.

Is there any docile Australian tarantula species? Any perfect for beginners. I would get a Mexican red knee as a beginner, as they are docile, however importing exotics are strictly forbidden.

Advice would be helpful,

thanks.

2. BobGrill

BobGrill Arachnoprince

Florida
    No there are no docile Australian species. Basically any old world you can find will be very high strung and skittish/ defensive. Some more so than others, but there is no such thing as a docile OW.

3. Poec54

Poec54 Arachnoemperor Active Member

USA
    Where's Steve Nunn?

4. NGLepine

NGLepine Arachnosquire

Here's his list!!

GENUS : Selenocosmia

sp. Stirlingi Hogg 1901

sp. Crassipes Koch 1874

sp. Strenua Thorell 1881

sp. Subvulpina Strand 1907

GENUS : Selenotypus

sp. plumipes Pocock 1895

GENUS : Selenotholus

sp. foelschei Hogg 1902

GENUS: Phlogiellus

sp. Undescribed

UNIDENTIFIED SPECIES

GENUS : Selenocosmia

GENUS : Selenotypus

5. Poec54

USA
    There's more species than that though. There's a few in the US that aren't on that list (that made it out of Australia due to Steve's efforts).

6. hyllusgiganteus

OK guys i've decided to get Selenotypus Plumipes. I just have one more question. In our house we regularly get common crickets. I probably have to mortein 2 or more everyday because they are pests. This is the species.

(http://allerkins.files.wordpress.com/2011/10/cricket-insect-picture.jpg)

Can I feed the tarantula this species or does it have to be a specific species of cricket that I have buy from the shop?

7. spiderengineer

spiderengineer Arachnoprince