What is the best first tarantula?

MountinGal

Arachnopeon
I have recently become fascinated with tarantulas. This happened when my family moved to SE Colorado where Oklahoma Browns are native to the area. As a teacher I have caught and then released a couple of these for my kids to look at, but now I want a captive bred as a pet. I am looking for some "first spider" suggestions. Thanks for the help!

Jennifer

NightCrawler27

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
g.rosea's are good for starting keepers...they are easy to take care of too..dry substrate ..water dish ..and some heat source...and a hide..but there are alot other different species you can choose from to ....good luck in finding your first T

and welcome to the boards..

Spike

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Welcome to the boards!

There are many many different good beginner species you may have better luck also by narrowing down what qualities you may want in your future T. Such as color, size, aboreal, terestrial also do you think you will handle the T some T's such as the old worlders don't take to kindly to being handled : :embarrassed: Cost can also be another consideration as well as if you prefer a sling (spiderling), juvinile, or adult. A good feature hear at the boards because this is a frequent question is the search function you may get more ideas that route as well. Good luck with you search :)

Malkavian

Arachnolord
Old Timer
G. pulchra's are very cool, jet black Ts that are related to the G.rosea. They're a bit more expensive (than roseas) and slow growers but they eat wonderfully and dig enough to make them lots of fun to watch.

David Burns

Arachnoprince
Old Timer